homepage > awards > outstanding researcher award

Outstanding Researcher Award

The SET section operates an annual competition to identify the Outstanding Researcher of the year. The purpose of this award is to recognize a researcher for their outstanding published research in the field of SET. The winner of this award is honored with a plaque usually presented at the Annual SET Section Business Meeting.

The primary criteria for the award are:

  1. Impact of the research on the field of SET
  2. Relevance to the larger accounting information systems community
  3. Relevance to the larger information systems community
  4. Originality and innovation of the research
Call for Nominations for the 2013 Award

Please send your nomination (as an attachment to an email) by 31 MARCH 2013 to the Chair of the committee for this award:

Professor Bonnie Morris
Duquesne University
Email: morrisb1@duq.edu

Selection process for the award:

  • Nominations should be sent by the annual date proposed (announced as appropriate by email each year).
  • To be eligible for consideration, the nominee must be a current member of the AAA.
  • A member of the SET Section must nominate the individual.
  • The nominating letter must include a statement as to why the individual is nominated and an assessment of the individual's research (which can include peer-reviewed books, monographs, and journal articles relating to research in the field of SET).
  • Members of the Executive Committee are ineligible for the award.
(NB. - Research contribution is broadly defined and not limited to any type of specific research contribution.)

Previous Recipients of this Award

  • 1994 - Barbro Back
  • 1995 - Dan O'Leary
  • 1996 - Raj Srivastava
  • 1997 - Carol Brown
  • 1998 - Miklos Vasarhelyi
  • 1999 -
  • 2000 - Amelia Baldwin
  • 2001 - Alex Kogan
  • 2002 - Ram Sriram
  • 2003 - Steve Sutton
  • 2004 - Andrew Lymer
  • 2005 - Roger Debreceny
  • 2006 - Stewart Leech
  • 2007 - Bill McCarthy
  • 2008 - Vicky Arnold
  • 2009 - Murphy Smith
  • 2010 - Andreas Nicolaou
  • 2011 -
  • 2012 - Guido Geerts
  • 2013 - Jagdish Pathak

Do please feel free to contact us with any queries or questions you have about anything you find on these pages - the section's webmanager, Rob Nehmer, can be contacted on nehmer@oakland.edu.