Management Accounting


The Management Accounting Section shall strive to stimulate and improve the teaching, researching and practice of accounting that assists in the effective and efficient management of entities. The goals of the Section include the following:

  1. Improve the effectiveness of instruction in management accounting by fostering development, testing and discussion of methods and materials, as well as course offerings;
  2. Encourage research in management accounting by facilitating the exchange of ideas and findings, and through opportunities for exposure of research results;
  3. Increase opportunities for the interchange of ideas among the members of the academic and professional community who are interested in management accounting; and
  4. Encourage capable and promising accounting students to pursue careers in management accounting by enhancing their knowledge of the activities, responsibilities and opportunities offered by such careers.


Naomi Soderstrom
University of Melbourne
198 Berkeley Street
419 UCB - Level 7
Melbourne, VIC
Monte Swain
Brigham Young University
Marriott School of Management
540 TNRB
Provo, UT  84602
Phone: 801-422-3174
Past President
Murray Lindsay
University of Lethbridge
Faculty of Management
4401 University Dr
Lethbridge, AB T1K 3M4
Phone: 403-329-2633
Margaret Shackell-Dowell
Cornell University
Johnson Graduate School of Management
437 Sage Hall
Ithica, NY 14850-6201
Phone: 607-255-6054
Council Representative
Leslie Eldenburg
University of Arizona-Tucson
Eller College of Management
McClelland Hall 301
P.O Box 210108
Tucson, AZ 85721 0108
Phone:520 621-4585



Journal of Management Accounting Research

Ranjani Krishnan
Michigan State University
Phone: 517 353 4687
Website Coordinator
and AAACommons Editorial Board Member

Andrea Drake
Louisiana Tech University
Phone: 318-556-4378


Committee Chairpersons

Murray Lindsay
University of Lethbridge
Phone: 403-329-2633
Ramji Balakrishnan
University of Iowa
Phone: 319-335-0958
Instructional Resources Committee

Albie Brooks
University of Melbourne
Phone: 0383445305
Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award Chair
Joe Fisher
Indiana University - Bloomington
Phone: 812-855-3705

Notable Contribution to Management Accounting Literature Award
Karen Sedatole
Michigan State University
Phone: 517-432-2919

Membership Outreach
Wayne Bremser
Villanova University
Phone: 610-519-4314
Midyear Meeting Best Teaching Case Award
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants
Phone: 201-474-1532
Annual Meeting Best Management Accounting Paper Award
Gavin Cassar
Early-Career in Management Accounting Research Award
Eva Labro
University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill
Phone: 919-962-5747
Best Management Accounting Dissertation Award
Jasmijn Bol
Tulane University
Phone: 504-314-7033
Most Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award
Wim van der Stede
London School of Economics and Political Science
Phone: 0207956695
IMA Jim Bulloch Innovations in Teaching Award
David Stout
Youngstown State University
Phone: 330-941-3509
Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award
Eddy Cardinaels
Tilburg University
Strategy Advisory Board


Meeting Coordinators

2014-2015 Midyear Meeting Co-Directors

Khim Kelly
University of Waterloo
Phone: 519-888-4567

Christian Hofman
Phone: 08921806892

2014-2015 Midyear Meeting Doctoral Consortium Co-Directors

Victor Maas
University of Amsterdam

Clara Chen
University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign
Phone: 217-244-3953
2014-2015 National Meeting Representative
Gavin Cassar

IMA Liaison
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants
Phone: 201-474-1532
AICPA Liaison
Anne Farrell
Miami University
Phone: 513-529-1869
CIMA Liaison
Margaret Woods
Aston Business School
Phone: +44 12-1204-5282


Regional Directors

International Director
Marc Wouters
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Phone: +49 721 608 41852
Bea Chiang
The College of New Jersey
Phone: 609-771-3056
Deborah Seifert
Illinois State University
Phone: 309-438-5771
Yvette Lazdowski
Plymouth State University
Phone: 603-535-2524
Ann Gabriel
Ohio University
Phone: 740-593-2019
Brian Vansant
Auburn University 
Phone: 334-844-6218
Marty Stuebs
Baylor University
Phone: 254-710-1329
Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington
Copyright © 1998 - 2021 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.