Management Accounting Section

Sponsored by the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants 


Call for Nominations – AAA MAS Best Early-Career Researcher in Management Accounting Award

Purpose:  The purpose of the award is to recognize and reward the early-career researcher with the best overall body of research in management accounting. The winner is honored with a plaque and $2,000. The award is generously sponsored by the Association of International Certified Professional Accountants.


•    Originality and innovative content

•    Relevance of the body of work to management accounting theory, practice, education and/or advancement of research methods in management accounting

•    Contribution to management accounting knowledge and impact on the field

•    Evaluation of the likelihood that the body of work will stimulate benefits to management accounting research in the future

Eligibility:  Eligible researchers were within five years of receiving their doctoral degree at the end of the last calendar year. Nominations for the award are to be submitted at or near the end of that five-year period.

Thus, for the award given in 2021, the candidate must have received his/her doctoral degree on January 1, 2016 or later. The body of research to be considered must have been published or accepted for publication between January 1, 2016 and December 31, 2020.

In addition, the candidate must be a member of the Management Accounting Section of the AAA at the time of the award.

Nomination Procedures: The nomination letter must clearly identify the nominee (including contact details), the body of work to be considered and a brief statement describing how the body of work has contributed to management accounting research. Letters of support for the nomination may also be included. While there is no standard nomination form, submissions should address, at minimum, the evaluation criteria listed above. Self-nominations are allowed.

Award Committee and Submission Instructions:  Nominations will be evaluated by a Committee of faculty appointed by the MAS President. Nominations must be emailed by March 1, 2021 to the Chair of the Award Committee: Markus Arnold, University of Bern,

Presentation of Award:  The Awards will be presented during the Management Accounting Section Business Meeting and Lunch at the AAA Annual Meeting in August.

Copyright © 1998 - 2021 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.