Annual Meeting Videos

Videos hosted by the American Accounting Association have been authorized by their respective presenters / rightsholders. Access to presentation video content from the 2019 Annual Meeting is a Member Benefit.

Plenary Speakers

Award Presentations and Service Project Speaker

  • The AAA/J.Michael and Mary Anne Cook/Deloitte Foundation Prize
  • Seminal Contributions to Accounting Literature Award
    Patricia Dechow, University of Southern California
  • Service Project Speaker: Kerri Murray, President, Shelterbox USA

Goldie Blumenstyk, The Chronicle of Higher Education

  • Mapping the New Education Landscape

Opening Remarks and Awards

  • Accounting Hall of Fame Inductions
  • Outstanding Accounting Educator Award (sponsored by the PricewaterhouseCoopers Foundation)
  • Deloitte Foundation Wildman Medal Award (sponsored by Deloitte Foundation)

Presidential Scholar Speaker: Erik Brynjolfsson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology

  • The Coming Productivity Boom: The Intangibles Behind the Artificial Intelligence (AI) Revolution

Lunch Award Presentations

  • Outstanding Service Award
  • Lifetime Service Award
  • Outgoing Editor for Issues in Accounting Education
  • Accounting Horizons Best Paper Award
  • Issues in Accounting Education Best Paper Award

Bertice Berry

  • Finding Your Purpose

Wednesday Plenary Award Presentations

  • Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature (sponsored by AICPA)
  • Competitive Manuscript Award
  • Innovation in Accounting Education Award (sponsored by Ernst & Young Foundation)
  • Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award

Daniel Newman, Futurum Research and Broadsuite Media Group

  • Futureproof: 7 Pillars for Digital Transformation Success

Wednesday Lunch Award Presentations

  • Outgoing Board of Directors
  • Past President
  • Director-Focusing on Intellectual Property
  • Director-Focusing on Academic/Practitioner Interaction
  • Outgoing Council Chair
  • AICPA Distinguished Achievement in Accounting Education Award
  • Beta Alpha Psi Outstanding Faculty Advisor Award

Terry Shevlin, University of California- Irvine and President-Elect, American Accounting Association

  • Top 10 Myths of Academic Accounting