

NEWS FROM THE SECTION

Committee News

Bylaws – the current document is being revised by the bylaws committee. It will be sent to the membership for review and approval upon the executive committee's approval.

The Membership and Retention Committee (the Committee) was established in the 2012 Annual Section Meeting. The Committee members are Shaokun Carol Yu from Northern Illinois University, Bruce W. McClain from Cleveland State University, Chun-Chia Amy Chang from San Francisco State University, Nicole McCoy from NC Central University, and Kerri-Ann Sanderson from Georgia State University. The committee is reaching out to AAA regional leaders to promote the section. The Committee is looking forward to a successful year as it continues to develop new strategies to serve the section in the membership area.

Our main goal in 2013 is to collect membership satisfaction information in order to retain and recruit section members. The Committee will send out a membership satisfaction survey in March 2013. This survey asks members about their overall engagement and satisfaction in the section. The questionnaire addresses some general information, the event attendance, the value received, networking opportunities, overall benefit of membership and the expectation of the Section's future. Your opinions are very important. We thank you in advance for sharing them with us. - Shaokun Carol Yu

Research Excellence Award Nominations

This award recognizes outstanding achievements in diversity research by a member or an officer. Please forward your nominations to the Awards committee by Thursday, April 19th. *Your nomination must include your nominee's name along with a justification for the award*. The committee members are Raymond Elson, chair (<u>relson@valdosta.edu</u>), Dahlia Robinson (<u>dmrobinson@usf.edu</u>), and Amelia Baldwin (<u>Amelia.Baldwin@uafs.edu</u>).

2013-14 Leadership

Contact Dahlia Robinson or Raymond Elson if you are interested in a section leadership role. This includes serving as an officer, a committee chairperson or member, or as a regional coordinator. The section relies on the generous contribution of its members' time.

Midyear Meetings

Your meeting coordinators are already at work on this year's meeting scheduled for early November. Maria T. Caban-Garcia" (<u>caban@usfsp.edu</u>) and Nicole R. McCoy (<u>Nmccoy4@nccu.edu</u>) would welcome your suggestions.

In Memorial

Delano Berry who retired from Fayetteville State University, passed away in February 2013. Delano was on faculty at Florida International University for a number of years.