## History of the AAA Financial Accounting and Reporting Section

In 1991, a member of the AAA proposed establishing a section on Financial Accounting and Reporting. The AAA Executive Committee (EC) agreed that "the member be allowed to proceed as rapidly as possible towards the establishment of this new section with possible approval of the provisional section status coming at the April meeting of the Executive Committee." The EC further noted "...that the organizer of this section must obtain 400 expressions of interest prior to being established as a provisional section". (November 1991 AAA Exec. Comm. Meeting Minutes).

Although not formally recognized in the minutes, AAA recollections are that the "member" we have to thank for establishing the FARs is Jerry J. Weygandt.

FARS was established as a "provisional" section in 1993 and the first President was John A. Elliott. The other initial officers were James A. Largay III (Vice president academic), D. Gerald Searfoss (Vice president practice) and William A. Collins (Secretary/treasurer). There were 49 members. Today, there are over 2,000 members. Dues were \$20, which is the same today.

The original mission of the FARs still stands today: The objective of the Financial Accounting and Reporting Section of the American Accounting Association is to give greater attention to financial accounting and reporting, and to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of education, research, and professional practice by: (1) disseminating and evaluating teaching methods and materials; (2) encouraging, facilitating, and publicizing research interests and projects; and (3) creating opportunities for interchange and cooperation between academics and practitioners.

From 1995-2004, FARs published a Newsletter called the Financial Reporting Journal. The first editor was William A. Collins. The newsletter was replaced by a website, and the editor replaced by a webmaster, in 2005.

The midyear meeting is the FARs flagship event. At the August 2000 AAA meeting, Jody Magliolo (President from 1999-2000) opened a discussion about a FARs midyear meeting. Although steering board members proposed both pros and cons, minutes from the annual business meeting indicate that most members were in favor. A consensus formed to design a meeting that would benefit junior faculty and doctoral students. The first meeting was planned for January 2003. Tom Linsmeier, as immediate past president, chaired the meeting committee.

The first midyear meeting included a doctoral consortium, consistent with its mission to provide opportunities for junior faculty and senior doctoral students, and a tradition continued today. The meeting also included three teaching sessions and two plenary sessions, one related to standard setting and the other by an accounting "luminary," initially TBD, which was Bill Beaver.

At the first meeting, 18 research papers were presented in six non-concurrent sessions. In 2014, there were 102 papers in five concurrent sessions! The meeting was also designed to provide opportunities for networking and social interaction for FARS members.

## Past Presidents and Membership Numbers

Year	Membership	President
1993-1994	49	John A. Elliott
1994-1995	715	James Largay III
1995-1996	1,049	Eugene E. Comiskey
1996-1997	1,385	Wayne R. Landsman
1997-1998	1,485	Robert J. Swieringa
1998-1999	1,539	Gregory Waymire
1999-2000	1,617	Joseph Magliolo III
2000-2001		Katherine Schipper
2001-2002	1,687	Thomas J. Linsmeier
2002-2003	1,659	Renee Price
2003-2004	1,660	W. Bruce Johnson
2004-2005	1,562	Terry D. Warfield
2005-2006	1,461	David A. Ziebart
2006-2007	1,510	Anne L. Beeaty
2007-2008	1,674	Philip B. Shane
2008-2009		Christine A. Botosan
2009-2010		Teri Lombardi Yohn
2010-2011	2,031	Mike Kirschenheiter
2011-2012	2,031	K. Ramesh
2012-2013		Dawn Matsumoto
2013-2014		Cathy Schrand
2014-2015		Darren Roulstone
2015-2016		Brian Bushee
2016-2017		Mark Bradshaw
2017-2018		Lisa Koonce
2018-2019		Nicole T. Jenkins
2019-2020		Sarah McVay

## **Midyear Meetings**

2003	Orlando, Florida
2004	Austin, Texas
2005	San Diego, California
2006	Atlanta, Georgia
2007	San Antonio, Texas
2008	Phoenix, Arizona
2009	New Orleans, Louisiana
2010	San Diego, California
2011	Tampa, Florida
2012	Chicago, Illinois
2013	San Diego, California
2014	Houston, Texas
2015	Nashville, Tennessee
2016	Newport Beach, California
2017	Charlotte, North Carolina
2018	Austin, Texas
2019	Seattle, Washington
2020	Nashville, Tennessee