A LETTER FROM OUR ATA SECTION PRESIDENT

Greetings ATA Members and welcome to the 2024/2025 academic year!

Thank you so much for providing me the opportunity to serve as your president this year. I am honored and extremely grateful for Jenny Brown's (Past-President) help in navigating this important role. She provided outstanding leadership during the ATA's 50th year and is absolutely wonderful!

Many members of the ATA, like Jenny, have been instrumental in my academic career over the past 25 years since I embarked on this adventure at the University of Washington as a PhD student. In addition to the excellent foundation I received at Washington, it was through various events provided by the ATA that I have met some truly remarkable people and enjoyed numerous rewarding opportunities. Throughout my career, several ATA members including Terry Shevlin, Ben Ayers, Lil Mills, Ed Outslay, Ken Klassen, Richard Sansing, Connie Weaver, and George Plesko motivated me one way or another to get and stay involved. I cannot thank them enough for their leadership and advice. Now it is encouraging to see new and continuing members utilizing the ATA's resources to similarly enhance their experience in the profession.

Speaking of opportunities, this academic year offers many exciting options. To begin with, a great big THANK YOU to all the volunteers who have willingly said "yes" when I have reached out. They make these opportunities possible. The next big one is the ATA's Midyear Meeting in Dallas. Thank you to Jared Moore and the entire Midyear Meeting Committee for planning the event. On February 20 we will hold the 21st Annual ATA / KPMG Doctoral Consortium (Chair, Michelle Harding) and the 11th Annual Teaching & Curriculum Conference (Chair, JaLynn Thomas). On February 21 and 22, we will hold the annual JATA (Chair, Lisa de Simone) and JLTR (Chair, Hughlene Burton) conferences, as well as numerous sessions that will feature the outstanding work of many ATA members. Thank you to Michelle Hutchens (Chair) and the Research Resources and Methodologies Committee for soliciting and selecting the papers, moderators, and discussants for the general research sessions. Thanks too to Ben Osswald (Chair) and the Early Career Development Committee for identifying and welcoming new tax faculty who we hope will become active members of our community.

Also, a special thanks to all the committees that solicit, evaluate, and select award recipients that the ATA recognizes at the Midyear meeting. The awards and the respective Chair of the committees accepting nominations this year include the Ray M. Sommerfeld Outstanding Tax Educator Award and the ATA's Outstanding Service Award (Jane Livingstone, Chair); the ATA/PricewaterhouseCoopers Outstanding Tax Dissertation Award

(Richard Sansing, Chair); and the Tax Manuscript Award (Jeri Seidman, Chair). Please consider nominating worthy recipients for these awards. The ATA also recognizes the JATA and JLTR Best Paper Awards, as well as the JATA Conference Best Discussant award. Please look for ATA emails and the ATA website for more details.

Many of you joined us in August in Washington DC for the AAA's annual meeting. Thanks to Luke Watson and Erin Henry for putting together an excellent set of concurrent sessions in Washington. Thanks also to the authors who submitted 42 papers and to the 118 volunteers who reviewed, discussed, and moderated for the Annual Meeting. It was a pleasure to reconnect at the ATA luncheon on Monday where we held our annual business meeting and enjoyed socializing.

Many, many volunteers make the Midyear Meeting, the Annual Meeting, and the ATA's ongoing success possible. I cannot name everyone because of space constraints, but I want to especially thank the ATA's officers, trustees, committee chairs and members, and advisory board for the 2024-25 academic year. I am also extremely grateful for the ATA's sponsors and all the professionals at the AAA that make our activities possible. Thank you!

I look forward to collaborating with you this year and to seeing you in Dallas, TX in February. Until then, I wish everyone a successful start to the academic year.

Stacie Kelly, FARS Section President Associate Professor University of Wisconsin-Madison