Menu

2014-2015 Annual Meeting Program Advisory Committee

Charge

  • While a myriad of events and activities occur during the meeting, important communications of the message comes from the plenary and lunch speakers, and to some degree, from broadly focused At-Large Panel sessions.
  • Crafting an engaging, interesting, challenging, and fascinating story for the Annual Meeting is the opportunity of the Program Advisory Committee.

Members

  • AAA President
  • Speaker Selection Chair/s
  • AAA Executive Director (Tracey Sutherland)
  • Education, Workshops, and Symposia Chair/s
  • Section Liaison Chair/s
  • AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs (Erlinda Jones)

Member Roles

AAA President

  • Liaison with the Management Team
  • Identifies Speaker Selection Chair/s
  • Chooses a Presidential Scholar

Speaker Selection Co-Chairs

  • Work with the Management Team to achieve the vision for that year’s meeting. 
  • Identify and invite speakers for three morning plenaries
    • Speakers may include a range of session types including: individual keynotes, “Ted-talk” style presentations, interview sessions, etc.
  • Identify a Tuesday lunch speaker – keeping in mind the special characteristics of lunch talks (approximately 20-25 minutes)
  • Plan up to three follow-up At-Large Panel sessions to continue or amplify topics begun in the three morning plenaries, as appropriate (not required)
  • Suggest additional panels to Management Team
  • If the Speaker Selection Chair/s has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director or the President.

Executive Director

  • Coordinates overall meeting
  • Orients/advises/informs committee members and planning process

Education, Workshops, and Symposia Co-Chairs

  • Review submissions for Pre-Conference Workshops and Symposia and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Identify and organize approximately 8 At-Large Education Panels
  • Review submissions to the Poster Sessions, Effective Learning Strategies, and Emerging and Innovative Research sessions and identify proposals for presentation

Section Liaison Co-Chairs

  • Primarily provide oversight and advisory resources to the Section Liaisons (Section-sponsored panels and papers).
  • Work with the Professional Staff Meeting Planning team and communicate deadlines and reminders to the Section Liaisons

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

  • Professional Staff member responsible for overall operational implementation of the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinator of all Professional Staff involvement

Coordination of Additional Annual Meeting Sessions (At-Large Panels)
(Not involving the Program Advisory Committee)

Management Team’s Role

  • Coordinating approximately 15 At-Large Panels on strategy related topics –with Professional Staff support.
  • Consulting with Professional Staff on scheduling of panels in cases when overlapping content is a question.
  • Develops and approves Call for Submission.

Accounting Professional Partners Advisory Group

  • Creates up to 5 At-Large Panels on key issues of industry/practice
  • Chaired currently by initial chair Ken Bouyer (in second of 2 year term)

AAA President

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Christine Botosan
University of Utah

christine.botosan@business.utah.edu

1

08/2015

 

Speaker Selection Co-Chairs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Co-Chair
Zoe-Vonna Palmrose
University of Washington-Seattle

palmrose@uw.edu

2

08/2015

Co-Chair
Gerry Searfoss
University of Utah

dgsearfoss@gmail.com

2

08/2015

 

AAA Executive Director

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Tracey Sutherland

tracey@aaahq.org

 

Education, Workshops, and Symposia Co-Chairs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Tracie Miller Nobles
Austin Community College

tracie.nobles@gmail.com

1

08/2015

Monte Swain
Brigham Young University

monte@byu.edu

1

08/2015

 

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section/Program Affiliation

Term Length

Term Expires

Section Liaison Chair
Sara Melendy Kern
Gonzaga University

kern@jepson.gonzaga.edu


1

08/2015

Chad Simon
Utah State University

chad.simon@usu.edu

ABO

1

08/2015

Stephanie Farewell
University of Arkansas-Little Rock

Victoria Chiu
SUNY at New Paltz

smfarewell@ualr.edu


vchiu626@gmail.com

AIS

1

08/2015

Frank Buckless
North Carolina State University

frank_buckless@ncsu.edu

APLG

1

08/2015

Mark A. Jackson
University of Nevada, Reno

Lynn Jones
Valdosta State University

markjackson@unr.edu


lynnjones@valdosta.edu

ATA

1

08/2015

Jayanthi Krishnan
Temple University

Kathy Hurtt
Baylor University

Scott Showalter
North Carolina State University

jaykrish@temple.edu

 

Kathy_Hurtt@baylor.edu

 

scott_showalter@ncsu.edu

AUD

1

08/2015

Theresa Hammond
San Francisco State University

thammond@sfsu.edu

DIV

1

08/2015

Jake Thornock
University of Washington-Seattle

John Campbell
University of Georgia

thornocj@uw.edu

 

johnc@uga.edu

FARS

1

08/2015

Curt Nichols
Bucknell University

Siew Chan
Nova Southeastern University

cmn006@bucknell.edu

 

schan1@nova.edu

FIA

1

08/2015

L. Murphy Smith
Murray State University

 

msmith93@murraystate.edu

 

GIWB

1

08/2015

Kathryn Jervis
University of Rhode Island

jervisk@mail.uri.edu

GNP

1

08/2015

Ling-Tai (Lynette) Chou
National Chengchi University

Thomas Lechner
Eastern Michigan University

lynettechou1@gmail.com

 

ProfLechner@Yahoo.com

International

1

08/2015

Brian Cadman
The University of Utah

Gary Hecht
University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign

brian.cadman@business.utah.edu


ghecht@illinois.edu

MAS

1

08/2015

W. Eric Lee
University of Northern Iowa

eric.lee@uni.edu

PI

1

08/2015

Daniel O'Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu

SET

1

08/2015

Karen Osterheld
Bentley University

Dan Jones
Assumption College

kosterheld@bentley.edu

 

dajones@assumption.edu

TLC

1

08/2015

Sidney Askew
Borough of Manhattan College

Markus Ahrens
Saint Louis Community College-Meramec

saskew@bmcc.cuny.edu

 

mahrens@stlcc.edu

TYC

1

08/2015

Barbara Merino
University of North Texas

barbara.merino@unt.edu

Accounting History

1

08/2015

 

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Erlinda Jones

erlinda@aaahq.org

 

Board of Directors Liaison

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Christine Botosan
University of Utah

christine.botosan@business.utah.edu

1

08/2015

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.