Menu

2016-17 International Accounting Section Officers

Objectives

The Section shall serve the following purposes:

  1. To encourage, support, and promote interest in all aspects of international accounting through the American Accounting Association, both in the United States and throughout the rest of the world;
  2. To provide means of communication among AAA members, other academicians, and professional accountants interested in international accounting through:
    1. Regional and national Section meetings (held concurrently with meetings of the AAA or other organizations) as well as international meetings;
    2. An annual Section Midyear Conference;
    3. Publication of a newsletter (International Accounting Forum);
    4. Preparation of publications relevant to international accounting, particularly the Section journal (Journal of International Accounting Research);
    5. Collection and dissemination of information about international accounting courses taught throughout the world;
    6. Publication of a Section membership list (with indication of special interest areas); and
    7. Support of international liaison activities conducted by the AAA administrative office or other AAA committees, and the encouragement of international faculty exchanges;
  3. To encourage international accounting research by Section members and to provide a forum for exchange of research findings through:
    1. Appropriate programs at annual Section Meetings and Regional Meetings;
    2. Assisting AAA research committees and providing advisory groups for international accounting projects; and
    3. Monitoring of important international accounting events and foreign research;
  4. To facilitate, as far as feasible, special research, teaching, or information needs of Section members as they arise-

 

Officers

President
Mahendra Gujarathi
Bentley University
Dept of Acctncy/Col Of Bus
175 Forest Street
Waltham, MA 02452
Phone: 781-891-3408
Email: MGUJARATHI@bentley.edu

Past-President
Giorgio Gotti
University of Texas - El Paso
Acctg Dept/Col of Business Admin
500 W University Avenue
El Paso, TX 79968
Phone: 915-747-7762
Email: ggotti@utep.edu


Vice President-Academic (President-Elect)
Chris Skousen
Utah State University
School of Accountancy
3540 Old Main Hill
Logan, UT 84322
Phone: 435-797-2429
Email: chris.skousen@usu.edu

Vice President — Practice
Paul Munter
KPMG LLP
Phone: (212) 909-5567
Email: pmunter@kpmg.com


Treasurer
Elaine Henry
Stevens Institute of Technology
Castle Point on Hudson
Hoboken, NJ
Phone: (203) 253-0309
Email: ehenry777@gmail.com

Secretary
Stephen Lin
Florida International University
11200 SW 8th Street
Miami, FL 33199
Phone:(786) 210-3688
Email:lins@fiu.edu


Council Representative
F. Greg Burton
Brigham Young University
School of Accountancy
540 TNRB
Provo, UT 84602
Phone: 801-422-8767
Email: fgb@byu.edu

 

 

Editors

Journal Editor
(Journal of International Accounting Research)

Ervin Black
University of Oklahoma
Phone: 405-325-2401
Email: ervblack@ou.edu

Newsletter
(International Accounting Forum)

Gia Chevis
Baylor University
Phone: 254-710-1328
Email: gia_chevis@baylor.edu


Communications Director
Helen Kang
University of New South Wales
Phone: 612-9385-5824 
Email: helen.kang@unsw.edu.au

 

 

Committee Chairpersons

Advisory Board Chair
Don Hermann
Oklahoma State University
Phone: 405- 744-8602
Email:don.herrmann@okstate.edu

Annual Program Co-Chair
Wendy Wilson
Southern Methodist University
Phone: 214-802-2272
Email:wwilson@smu.edu


Annual Program Co-Chair
Siva Nathan
Georgia State University
Phone: 404-413-7225
Email: snathan@gsu.edu

CPE Committee Co-Chair
Eva Jermakowicz
Tennesse State University
Phone: 615-963-7052 
Email: ejermakowicz@tnstate.edu


Doctoral Travel Grants- Chair
Tami Dinh
University of ST. Gallen
Phone: +41712247424
Email: tami.dinh@unisg.ch

International Relations
Ajay Adhikari
American University
Phone: 202-885-1993
Email: aadhika@american.edu


Membership Committee Co-Chair
Daniele Macciochi
University of Utah
Phone: 801- 581-7673
Email: dmacciocchi@luiss.it

Membership Committee Co-Chair
Judy Beckman
University of Rhode Island
Phone: 401-874-4321
Email:beckman@uri.edu



201 7 Midyear Conference Co-Chair
Stephani Mason
DePaul University
Ph: 718-772-1745
Email: smason18@depaul.edu

2017 Midyear Conference Co-Chair
Gina Rosa
University of New Orleans
Ph: 504-280-7150
Email: rcrosa@uno.edu


JIAR Conference Co-Chair
Agnes Cheng
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Phone: +88227667772
Email: afagnes@polyu.edu.hk

JIAR Conference Co-Chair
Elizabeth Gordon
Temple University
Phone: 215-470-8915
Email: egordon@temple.edu


Midyear Conference Doctoral Consortium
Hollis A. Skaife
University of California-Davis
Phone: 530-752-6997
Email: haskaife@ucdavis.edu

Nominations Committee Chair
F. Greg Burton
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-8767
Email: fgb@byu.edu


Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee
Bowe Hansen

Outstanding Educator Award Committee
Sudipta Basu
Temple University
Phone: 215-204-0489
Email: Sudipta.Basu@temple.edu


Outstanding Section Service Award Committee Chair
Tony Kang
McMaster University
Ph: +905 525-9140 x24431
Email: kangt@mcmaster.ca

2018 Mid-Year Conference Doctoral Consortium Coordinator
Betsy Gordon
Temple University
Ph: 215-470-8915
Emailegordon@temple.edu


Practice Issues Committee Co-Chair 
Susan Hughes

Practice Issues Committee Co-Chair 
Paul Munter


Publications Committee Chair
Agnes Cheng
Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Phone: +88227667772
Email: afagnes@polyu.edu.hk

Research Committee Chair
Thomas B. Hansen
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Phone: 540-231-7155
Email: bowe.hansen@vt.edu


Strategic Planning Committee
Wolfgang Schultze
University of Augsburg
Phone: 498215984130
Email: wolfgang.schultze@wiwi.uni-augsburg.de

 


Teaching and Learning Committee
John Rossi
Moravian College
Phone: (610) 861-1380
Email:mejdr01@moravian.edu

Section Historian
Robert Larson
University of Dayton
Phone: 937-229-2497
Email: rlarson1@udayton.edu

 

Regional Coordinators  

Regional Coordinator Chair
Gary Braun

Midwest Region
Regional Coordinator Chair
Mark Myring
Ball State University
Phone: 765-285-5100
Email: mmyring@bsu.edu


Mid-Atlantic Region
Minna Yu
Monmouth University
Phone: 732-263-5543
Email: miyu@monmouth.edu

Ohio Region
Mark Holtzblatt
Cleveland State University
Phone: 224-392-7030
Email: m.holtzblatt@csuohio.edu


Northeast Region
Norbert Tschakert
Salem State University
Phone: 619-200-9852
Email: ntschakert@salemstate.edu

Southwest Region Co-Coordinator
Kean Wu
University of Houston-Clear Lake
Phone: 281-283-3108
Email: wukean@uhcl.edu


Southeast Region
Murphy Smith
Murray State University
Phone: 270-809-4297
Email: Msmith93@murraystate.edu

Western Region
Gary Braun
California State University - Chico
Email: gbraun@csuchico.edu

 

International Coordinators

Australia
Gabriel Donleavy

Austria
Martin Messner
University of Innsbruck
Phone: 33139677477
Email: Martin.messner@uibk.ac.at


Belgium
Ann Gaeremynck
KU Leuven
Email: Ann.Gaeremynck@econ.kuleuven.be

Canada
Samir Trabelsi
Brock University
Ph: 905-688-5550
Email: samir.trabelsi@brocku.ca


China
Paul Gillis
Peking University's Guanghua School of Management
Ph:
Email: gillis@gsm.pku.edu.cn

France
Wolfgang Dick


Germany
Wolfgang Schultze
University of Augsburg
Phone: 498215984130
Email: Wolfgang.schultze@wiwi.uni-augsburg.de

Hong Kong/Singapore
Nancy Sue


India
Gaurav Gupta
Pacific Lutheran University
Phone: (253) 355-7758
Email: guptaga@plu.edu

Italy
Marco Fasan
Ca' Foscari University of Venice
Phone: +003-934-68467041
Email: marco.fasan@unive.it


Netherlands
Willem Buijink
Universiteit van Tilburg
Phone: 311-346-62756
Email: w.f.j.buijink@tilburguniversity.edu

New Zealand
Asheq Rahman
Massey University
Phone: 649-414-0800 ext 43285
Email: A.R.Rahman@massey.ac.nz


 
 

South Africa
Vida Botes
The University of Waikato NZ
idab@waikato.ac.nz

South America and Brazil
Gerlando Lima
University of Sao Paulo (USP)
Phone: 11-30915820
Email: Gerlando@usp.bf


Thailand
KK Boonlert-U-Thai
Chulalongkorn University
Phone: 011-662-5798
Email: Kriengkrai@acc.chula.ac.th

Turkey
Mine Aksu
Sabanci University
Phone: 902164839678 ext 9678
Email: maksu@sabanciuniv.edu

International Relations
Ajay Adhikari
American University
Phone: (202) 885-1993
Email: aadhika@american.edu

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.