Slate of Officers for the 2017–2018 Board of Directors

The 2016–2017 Nominations Committee announces the slate of officers for President-Elect, Vice President-Education, Vice President-Finance-Elect, Director-Focusing on International, and Director-Focusing on Membership.

The 2016–2017 Council Ballot Committee (CBC) created the slate for the Board position of Director-Focusing on Membership. Through the work of the CBC, there are consistently three Board positions for which Council chose the candidates for the slate.

Candidates for the 2017–2018 Board of Directors positions are listed below. The election will take place in Spring 2017.


  • Gail Hoover King - Purdue University Northwest
  • Marc Rubin -  Miami University of Ohio

Vice President-Education

  • Steven E. Kaplan - Arizona State University-Tempe
  • Michael J. C. Wells - World Bank

Vice President-Finance-Elect

  • Douglas F. Prawitt - Brigham Young University
  • Mark H. Taylor - Case Western Reserve University

Director-Focusing on International

  • Sylvia Meljem - Instituto Tecnológico Autonómo de México (ITAM)
  • Wim A. Van der Stede - The London School of Economics and Political Science

Director-Focusing on Membership 

  • David DeBoskey - San Diego State University
  • Tracie Miller-Nobles - Austin Community College


  • New officers will serve on the Board of Directors for three years beginning at the Annual Meeting in August 2017 in San Diego, California.

Voting Process

  • Consistent with the AAA Bylaws, additional nominations may be made by a petition signed by not less than one hundred (100) members of the Association submitted to the Executive Director at the AAA headquarters office at 5717 Bessie Drive, Sarasota, FL 34233, and received no later than 11:59 pm Eastern Time on Friday, December 23, 2016. Persons so nominated must have previously agreed to serve if elected. The membership of the Association shall be notified prior to the election of the nominations made by petition.
  • In January 2017, a "Get to Know the Candidates" page will be posted on our website and available for members to view until online voting begins in early February, and will also be included in the Winter issue of the Accounting Education News.
  • According to the AAA Bylaws, the election shall take place by mail, facsimile, or electronic vote of the members.
  • Regular and Life members of the Association are eligible to vote in elections conducted by the Association; however, Student members are not eligible to participate in the Association election process.
  • Online voting shall take place between Monday, February 6, 2017 and Tuesday, March 7, 2017, at 11:59 pm Eastern Time. (Detailed voting instructions will be provided later via the AAA website and multi-topic emails.)
  • Paper ballots will be mailed to all members 1) without a valid email address and 2) who are on the AAA "do not email" list (who have opted out of receiving emails).

Nominations Committee (per AAA Bylaws)
The AAA Nominations Committee shall consist of the two most recent Past Presidents willing and able to serve and five members elected by Council. The five elected members cannot be current members of either Council or the Board of Directors. The Nominations Committee shall be chaired by the most senior, in service, of the Past Presidents serving. Members of the Nominations Committee are not eligible for nomination. Members of the 2016-2017 Nominations Committee are: Mary Barth, Chair, AAA Past President, Stanford University; Bruce Behn, University of Tennessee, AAA Past President; Mark Higgins, Saint Louis University; Sarah McVay, University of Washington-Seattle; Karen Pincus, University of Arkansas-Fayetteville; Scott Showalter, North Carolina State University; Jim Young, Northern Illinois University, and Tracey Sutherland, AAA Executive Director, (ex-officio).

Council Ballot Committee (per AAA Bylaws)
In 2011, Council established the policy that the Council Ballot Committee (CBC) would function as a "committee of the whole." Each year the CBC will choose at least two names to appear on the ballot for one position on the Board of Directors ballot. The standing Council Ballot Committee, established with the Bylaws revision, comprises all Council members with the exception of the Board of Directors. Urton Anderson, The University of Kentucky, chaired the 2016–2017 CBC.


Questions?  Please contact Barbara Gutierrez, Governance Manager, at or (941) 556-4117.

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.