Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award

Purpose and Criteria:
The Lifetime Contribution Award is to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions to management accounting education, research and/or practice over a sustained period of time through scholarly endeavors, teaching excellence, educational innovation and/or service to the Management Accounting Section. The award extends profession-wide recognition to the recipient and promotes role models in management accounting.

Given the purpose of the award is recognizing lifetime contributions in the field of management accounting, eligibility is intended to be broad and, thus, is not restricted to academics. However, a member of the American Accounting Association and the Management Accounting Section is preferred. Current members of the Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award Comittee and of the Executive Committee are ineligible for the award.

One award may be made each year. The announcement and presentation of the award will be made at the Midyear Meeting of the Management Accounting Section.

Membership of the Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Committee:
The Committee will consist of three (3) members serving staggered three (3) year terms. The most senior member, i.e., the member with one year remaining on his or her term, will serve as chair. For the 2018 award, the Chair is Naomi Soderstrom, University of Melbourne

Selection of Committee Members:
The Committee consists of the three most immediate past presidents.

Selection Process:
Nomination of a candidate is confidential. Anyone wishing to nominate a candidate for the award should submit a letter nominating the candidate, any supporting materials such as letters from other supporters of the candidate and, where possible, a current Curriculum Vitae to the Chair of the Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award Committee. Nominations submitted within the past three years will be considered along with nominations submitted this year. Updates to previous nomination packages are welcome. The closing date for nominations is October 7, 2017. The award will be presented at the Midyear Meeting of the Management Accounting Section in January 2018.

The winner will receive a plaque. The AICPA is sponsoring this award.

Prior Award Winners

Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.