2018 Ohio Region Meeting


Cathy J. Scott, Professor of Accounting and Department Chair, Navarro College
Plenary Speaker, Friday, April 27, 9:15 am – 10:15 am
Perspective on High-Quality Teaching from the Cook Prize Winners

Cathy J. Scott is a Professor of Accounting and Department Chair at Navarro College. She transitioned into academia after a 25-year career in the automotive industry.  Professor Scott has a passion for improving accounting education and has published and spoken on effectively using technology in the classroom, improving online education, and engaging students with active learning. She is also the author of a College Accounting textbook, with a career approach focus, and the co-founder of the, a website and blog that links technology to pedagogy as well as provides tips to successfully incorporate technology into courses. 

Professor Scott currently serves as the AAA TYC Vice President and Council Member. She is also the AAA Southwest Region TLC Co-Coordinator and a board member for Teachers of Accounting at Two-Year Colleges (TACTYC). Additionally, she is a proud recipient of the Texas Society of CPA’s Outstanding Accounting Educator Award, the American Accounting Association’s Two-Year College Educator of the Year Award, and Navarro College’s Teaching of Excellence Award.


Marc Rubin, AAA President-Elect, Miami University of Ohio, Farmer School of Business
Plenary Speaker, Saturday, April 28, 8:20 am – 8:50 am
Pathways to a Sustainable Future

Marc Rubin is PwC Professor of Accountancy and Chair of the Department of Accountancy in the Farmer School of Business at Miami University of Ohio having served on its faculty since 1990. He has served at the University of Seoul as visiting faculty and as Associate Professor and Visiting Associate Professor, Graduate School of Business Administration, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. Marc earned his Ph.D. from the University of Texas at Austin.

Marc has published extensively in peer-reviewed journals including The Accounting Review, Issues in Accounting Education, Journal of Public Budgeting, Accounting & Financial Management, Research in Governmental and Nonprofit Accounting, and Journal of Accounting and Public Policy. He has authored research reports for the Financial Accounting Foundation and Governmental Accounting Standards Board, presented at over 50 conferences including AAA Annual Meetings, Region and Section meetings, as well as state and local conferences on issues in accounting education, financial and governmental accounting, and financial statement analysis. Marc serves on the Editorial Board of Issues in Accounting Education and Journal of Public Budgeting, Accounting & Financial Management, and previously, Research in Governmental and Nonprofit Accounting.

Marc has thirty-two years’ experience as a faculty member, is a CPA, and has received a number of academic awards for excellence including the Cincinnati Magazine Outstanding Educator Award (2014) and the Beta Gamma Sigma Distinguished Faculty Award (1998), and several teaching fellowships and research grants. He is the current President-Elect of the American Accounting Association.

Copyright © 1998 - 2017 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.