Menu
  • Welcome to the Auditing Section

    The Auditing section fosters excellence in the teaching, research and practice of auditing and assurance services.

Auditing

Objectives

The purpose of the Auditing Section of the American Accounting Association is to give greater attention to the area of auditing. To fulfill this purpose, the Section has established objectives in three areas:

Education—to discuss, test, and disseminate various ways of teaching auditing and audit-related topics.

Research—to encourage, facilitate, and publicize research interests and projects in the audit area.

Profession—to create an opportunity for closer association between the profession and those who instruct in the field.


Officers

President
Jay Thibodeau
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2564 jthibodeau@bentley.edu
Past President
Mark Taylor
Case Western Reserve University
Phone: 216-368-2073
mht17@case.edu
   
Vice President - Academic
Chris Hogan
Michigan State University
Phone: 517-353-8647
hogan@bus.msu.edu
Vice President - Practice
Steven Meisel
Pricewaterhouse Coopers LLP
steve.meisel@us.pwc.com
   
Treasurer
Christine Earley
Providence College
Phone: 401-865-2056
cearley@providence.edu
Secretary
Mark Zimbelman
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-1227
mz@byu.edu
   
Historian
Scott Showalter
North Carolina State University
Phone: 919-513-0526
scott_showalter@ncsu.edu
Council Representative
Audrey Gramling
Colorado State University
Audrey.Gramling@business.colostate.edu

 

Editors

Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory
Senior Editor:
Jeff Cohen
Boston College
Phone: 617-552-3165
jeffrey.cohen.1@bc.edu


 
Editors:  
Yves Gendron
Laval University
yves.gendron@fsa.ulaval.ca
Jacqueline Hammersley
University of Georgia
Phone: 706-542-3500
jhammers@uga.edu
David Hay
University of Auckland
d.hay@auckland.ac.nz
Rani Hoitash
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2588
rhoitash@bentley.edu
Jennifer Joe
University of Delaware
Phone: 302-831-6002
jjoe@udel.edu
Karla Johnstone
University of Wisconsin at Madison
Phone: 608-262-3544
kjohnstone@bus.wisc.edu
Vic Naiker
Monash University
vic.naiker@monash.edu

Susan Scholz
The University of Kansas
Phone: 785-864-7554
sscholz@ku.edu

Greg Trompeter
University of Central Florida
Phone: 407-823-2150
trompete@ucf.edu
Marleen Willekens
Catholic University of Leuven
Phone: +32 1 632 6932
Marleen.Willekens@econ.kuleuven.be
 
The Auditor's Report
Editor:
Larry Abbott
Department of Accounting
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
School of Business Administration
3202 N. Maryland
Milwaukee, WI 53201
abbottl@uwm.edu
Associate Editor:
Tamara Lambert
Isenberg School of Management
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Amherst, MA 01003
Phone: 413-545-5653
tlambert@som.umass.edu
 
Current Issues in Auditing
Co-Editors:
Dorsey Baskin
Grant Thornton
1717 Main St. Suite 1500
Dallas, TX 75201-9436
Phone: 241-561-2300
Dorsey.baskin@gt.com

Greg Jenkins
Virginia Tech University
Phone: 540-231-2527
greg.jenkins@vt.edu

 
Other
Webmaster
Glen L. Gray
California State University, Northridge
Phone: 818-677-3948
glen.gray@csun.edu
Section Photographer
Julia Higgs
Florida Atlantic University
Phone: 561-297-3663
jhiggs@fau.edu

 

Committee Chairpersons

Annual Meeting Committee Co-Director 2015
Jayanthi Krishnan
Temple Univeristy
Phone: 215-204-3085
jaykrish@temple.edu

Annual Meeting Committee Co-Director 2015
Kathy Hurtt
Baylor University
Phone: 254-710-4788
Kathy_Hurtt@baylor.edu

Annual Meeting Committee Co-Director 2015
Scott Showalter
North Carolina State University
Phone: 919-513-0526
scott_showalter@ncsu.edu
 

Annual Meeting Committee Vice Director 2015
Jian Zhou
University of Hawaii
(808) 956-7608
jianzhou@hawaii.edu

Annual Meeting Committee Vice Director 2015
Barbara Grein
Drexel University
(215) 895-1454
bmg33@drexel.edu

Annual Meeting Committee Vice Director 2015
Lisa Gaynor
University of South Florida
(813) 974-6566
lgaynor@usf.edu

Annual Meeting Committee Analytical Program Specialist 2015
Martin Wu
University of Illinois
(217) 333-5957
martinwu@illinois.edu

Midyear Meeting Committee Co-Chair 2015
Julia Higgs
Florida Atlantic University – Boca
Phone: 561-297-3663
jhiggs@fau.edu

Midyear Meeting Committee Co-Chair 2015
Rani Hoitash
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2588
rhoitash@bentley.edu

Midyear Meeting Committee Vice-Chair 2015
Jonathan Stanley
Auburn University
(334) 844-6206
jds0024@auburn.edu

Midyear Meeting Committee Vice-Chair 2015
Brian Daugherty
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
(414) 229-5737
daughert@uwm.edu

Auditing Doctoral Consortium Committee Chairperson  2015
Chris Agoglia
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Phone: 413-545-5582
cpa22@isenberg.umass.edu

Auditing Doctoral Consortium Committee Vice-Chairperson  2015
Jennifer Joe
University of Delaware
Phone: 302-831-6002
jjoe@udel.edu

Auditing Standards Committee
Urton Anderson
University of Kentucky
Phone: 859-218-1788
uan222@email.uky.edu

Communications Committee
Chad Stefaniak
Central Michigan University
Phone: 989-774-2353
Chad.Stefaniak@cmich.edu

Education Committee
Tom Kozloski
Saint Mary's University
Phone: 902-420-5271
thomas.kozloski@smu.ca

Research Committee
Natalia Kochetova
Saint Mary’s University
Phone: 902-420-5800
Natalia.K@smu.ca

Membership and Regional Coordinators Committee
Chad Simon
Utah State University
Phone: 435-797-9055
chad.simon@usu.edu

Nominations Committee
Roger Martin
University of Virginia
Phone: 434-982-2182
rdm3h@virginia.edu

Notable Contributions to the Auditing Literature Award Selection Committee
Rich Houston
Culverhouse College of Commerce and Business Admin.
Phone: 205-348-8392
rhouston@cba.ua.edu

Outstanding Auditing Dissertation
Selection Committee

Dana Hermanson
Kennesaw State University
Phone: 770-423-6077
dhermans@kennesaw.edu

Outstanding Educator Award
Mark Taylor
Case Western Reserve University
Phone: 2163682073
mht17@case.edu

Innovation in Auditing and Assurance Education Award Selection Committee
Bill Dilla
Iowa State University
Phone: 515-294-1685
wdilla@iastate.edu

Distinguished Service in Auditing Award Selection Committee
Steven Meisel
Pricewaterhouse Coopers LLP
steve.meisel@us.pwc.com

AJPT Awards
Robert Knechel
University of Florida
Phone: 352-273-0215
w.knechel@warrington.ufl.edu

 

Regional Coordinators

Chair
Chad Simon
Utah State University
Phone: 435-797-9055
chad.simon@usu.edu
Mid-Atlantic Region
James McKinney
University of Maryland
Phone: 301-405-2217
jmckinney@rhsmith.umd.edu
   
Midwest Region
Lawrence Chui
University of St. Thomas
Phone: 651-962-5442
Lawrence.chui@stthomas.edu
Northeast Region
Benjamin Luippold
Babson College
Phone: 781-239-5995
bluippold@babson.edu
   
Ohio Region
Ben Hoffman
Kent State University
Phone: 332-672-1120
bhoffm11@kent.edu
Southeastern Region
Aretha Hill
Florida A & M University
Phone: 850-599-8331
hillaretha@aol.com
   
Southwest Region
Lili Sun
University of North Texas
Phone: 940 565-3077
Lili.Sun@unt.edu
Western Region
Kathleen Rupley
Portland State University
Phone: 503-725-3133
rupleyk@pdx.edu
   
International
Anastasia Maggina
anastasiamaggina@yahoo.gr
 
Copyright © 1998 - 2018 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.