Accounting Behavior and Organizations Sections Awards

Notable Contribution Award Past Winners

2019 - Marlys Lipe

2018 - Steven E. Salterio

2017- Sarah Bonner

2016 - None Awarded

2015 - Arnie Wright

2014 - Tom Kida

2013 - Steve Kaplan

2012 - Joan Luft

2009 - Ken Trotman

2008 - Michael D. Shields

2007 - Mark Dirsmith

2005 - Theodore J. Mock

2004 - William S. Waller

2003 - Kenneth A. Merchant

2001 - Anthony G. Hopwood

2000 - Robert Libby

1999 - Jacob G. Birnberg

1995 - Robert H. Ashton

Outstanding Dissertation Award Past Winners

2019 - Nate Waddoups

2018 - Mary Catherine Dodgson

2017- Robert P. Mocadlo

2016 - E.B. Altiero

2015 - Kristina Demek

2014 - (tie) Kerry Humphreys and Scott Asay

2013 - Brian J. White

2012 - Justin Leiby

2011 - Jonathan Grenier

2010 - Jason Brown

2009 - Nicholas Seybert

2008 - Shana Clor-Proell

2007 - David Piercey

2006 - Joshua Herbold

2005 - Arianna Pinello

2004 - Brooke Elliott

2003 - Kimberly Sawers

2002 - Lisa Sedor

2001 - Wendy Bailey

2000 - Jennifer Joe

1999 - John A. Barrick

1998 - Linda Thorne

1997 - Jay C. Thibodeau

1996 - (tie) Rich Houston and Patrick Hopkins

1995 - Sandra C. Vera-Munoz

1994 - Keith R. Duncan

1993 - S. Jane Kennedy

ABO Conference Outstanding Manuscript


Kristina Rennekamp
Mani Sethuraman
Blake Steenhoven


Frank Hodge
Rosh Sinha
Kim Mendoza


Robert Grasser
John Majerczyk
Martin Staehle
Di Yang



Ethan LaMothe
Donna Bobek Schmitt
Chelsea Austin


Andrew Cuccia
Anne M. Margo
Amber Whisenhunt


Benjamin Commerford
Dana R. Hermanson
Richard W. Houston
Michael F. Peters


Jane Miller Thayer
Ann Backof
Tina Carpenter


Anne Farrell
Joshua Goh
Brian White


Ann Backof
E. Michael Bamber
Tina Carpenter


Bryan Church
R. Lynn Hannon
Xi (Jason) Kuang


Lisa Milici Gaynor
Linda McDaniel
Teri Lombardi Yohn


Tina Carpenter
Jane Reimers
Geraldine Hottegindre
Cedric Lesage
C. Richard Baker

ABO Conference Emerging Scholar


Nate Waddoups


Markus Doxey
James Lawson
Shane Stinson


Ben Van Landuyt


Matthew Sooy


Nicole Cade


Bryan W. Stewart*


Tyler Thomas*


Scott A. Emett*
William B. Tayler
David A. Wood*


Gary Hecht
Willie Choi*
William B. Tayler


Kirsten Fanning*
Chris Agoglia
David Piercey


Kirsten Fanning*
David Piercey*


Alisa Brink*

*Indicates Emerging Scholar

BRIA Best Paper

Award Recipients


Steve Perreault
James Wainberg


Roland F. Spekle’
Hilco J. van Elten
Sally K. Widener


Nicole P. Ang
Ken T. Trotman


Jeffrey R. Cohen
Lori Holder-Webb
Valentina L. Zamora


Marietta Peytcheva
Arnold Wright
Barbara Majoor


Douglas F. Prawitt
Nathan Y. Sharp
David A. Woods


Terrence Pitre


Robert Pinsker


Robert Pinsker
Robin Pennington
Jennifer Schafer
Khim Kelly


Wray Bradley

Letter from the President

Dear Members of the Accounting Behavior and Organizations Section,

Our conference in San Antonio was smaller than usual given the unique circumstances, but all the more personal and engaging. Scott Asay did a commendable job leading the ABO through a year full of uncertainties, while Scott Emmett and Steph Grant put in a herculean effort to provide our section with an unmatched in-person experience. Thank you to the entire executive committee for overseeing our section’s health and operations amidst unprecedented times.

Looking forward, I am excited to continue supporting our mission of encouraging excellence in research and education at the intersection of accounting and behavioral and organizational sciences. Behavioral Research in Accounting, our section’s journal...

Continue Reading


The deadline for submitting nominations for the ABO Notable (Lifetime) Contribution Award in Behavioral Accounting Literature is May 27, 2019.

Please email your nomination to Axel Schulz at  For more information, click here. 

The deadline for submitting nominations for the ABO Outstanding Dissertation Award is May 27, 2019. 

Please email your nomination to Axel Schulz at  For more information, click here


Behavioral Research in Accounting

A journal of the Accounting, Behavior, and Organizations Section of the American Accounting Association

Submit to Behavioral Research in Accounting Journal

Midyear Meeting

2021 Accounting Behavior and Organizations Virtual Research Conference and Doctoral Consortium

Join us for the 2021 Accounting Behavior and Organizations Research Conference being held October 7-9 in San Antonio, Texas at the Hilton Palacio del Rio located on the historic River Walk. More details about the meeting along with meeting registration, will be posted here soon. We look forward to seeing you in San Antonio.