ANOTHER SPECIAL DIVERSITY SECTION WORKSHOP WEDNESDAY, JULY 14, 4:00PM, EASTERN

Issues in Accounting Education has distributed a call for papers related to Diversity, Equity, and Social Justice in Accounting Education. The AAA Diversity Section is supporting our members in developing papers for submission to this special issue by hosting a workshop for authors to present their work and receive feedback. The workshop will be held virtually via Zoom on Wednesday, July 14, 4:00 PM Eastern/3:00 PM Central. (The reason for the late start time is that three of the guest editors attending the workshop are located in Australia. They will join us at 6:00 AM!)

We are inviting all members of the Diversity Section to read these paper proposals, attend this workshop, and share comments, questions, and other feedback with the authors to enrich their papers. If you would like to attend the workshop, PLEASE REGISTER HERE. We will distribute the paper proposals and the Zoom link for the workshop to all registrants.

Workshop Schedule

Wednesday, July 14 (afternoon in USA)/Thursday, July 15 (morning in Australia):

4:00 PM US Eastern/3:00 PM US Central/6:00 AM Australian Eastern
Paper: Where do I Start? A Pathway for Personal Growth for Faculty Committed to Creating Inclusive Classrooms
Authors: Robbie Bishop-Monroe and Joanna Garcia
Host: Lisa De Simone

4:30 US Eastern/3:30 US Central/6:30 AM Australian Eastern
Paper: Does Collegiate Women in Business Organizations Change Participant Confidence, Perceived Professional Goals, and Gender Perceptions?
Authors: Michael Bootsma, Kayla Sander, Jennifer Kreiser, and Diane Janvrin
Host: Catherine Cleaveland

5:00 US Eastern/4:00 US Central/7:00 AM Australian Eastern
Paper: Perceived Barriers to the CPA Exam for Black Accountants
Authors: R. Mithu Dey and Lucy Lim
Host: Ralph Viator

5:30 US Eastern/4:30 US Central/7:30 AM Australian Eastern
Paper: A Content Analysis of the Portrayal of Under-Represented Minorities in Principles of Accounting Textbooks
Authors: Chevonne Alston, LaToya Flint, and Sydnee Manley
Host: Wendy Tietz

6:00 US Eastern/5:00 US Central/8:00 AM Australian Eastern
Paper: Remediation of Knowledge Gaps for Underrepresented Minority Students: Insights from a Natural Experiment in Financial Accounting
Authors: Bryan Brockbank, Craig Sisneros, and Angela Wheeler Spencer
Host: Alex Gabbin

6:30 US Eastern/5:30 US Central/8:30 AM Australian Eastern
Paper: Machine Learning and Gender Bias in Accounting Job Recruitment
Authors: Sheilla Njoto, Ly Fie Sugianto, a
nd Leah Ruppanner
Host: Nerissa Brown

Letter from the President

Norma Montague
2020-2021 Section President

Greetings!

My name is Norma Ramirez Montague, and I am honored to assume the role of the Diversity Section President for 2020-2021. As you well know, the Diversity Section's longstanding goals encompass the creation and dissemination of knowledge as it relates to diversity and inclusion in the accounting and accounting education fields via the promotion of excellence in research, teaching, and practice. As thought leaders in diversity and inclusion, we should strive to achieve those goals in new and innovative ways. In that spirit, I would like to announce the launch of a new two-year initiative for the Diversity Section to build upon our predecessors' tremendous efforts.

Continue Reading...

Midyear Meeting

2021 Diversity Section
Save the Date!

October 23- 24, 2021

Click Here for more information