Menu

2020-2021 Meetings Model Task Force

Charge

Assist the Board of Directors in developing one or more meeting models that, when combined, maximizes the value of meetings to our members while minimizing financial risk.

Core principles:

  • Blended model: risks and decisions are shared by segments and AAA-wide
  • Every meeting is planned to run at 5% profit (eventually)
    • Profit = Total Meeting Revenue – Total Direct Expenses
    • Direct expenses include outside vendors, professional staff, and traceable HQ expenses
  • General Fund gets a share of revenue to cover staff costs related to meetings
  • Segment Funds get a share of revenue to fund future activities
  • Consider methods for cost management, through both outside contracts and more efficient use of professional staff time

Membership

  • Members and the Chair are appointed by the AAA Management Team.
  • The Task Force size varies according to its projects and purposes.

Estimated Time Commitment

  • The Task Force meets as needed at the discretion of the Chair.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the Task Force charge as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this Task Force, s/he should contact the Chief Executive Officer, the President, or the Task Force’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity two times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the Task Force’s Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires

Chair
Brian Bushee
University of Pennsylvania

bushee@wharton.upenn.edu

1

08/2021

Mark Beasley
North Carolina State University

mark_beasley@ncsu.edu

1

08/2021

Eric Bostwick
University of West Florida - Pensacola

ebostwick@uwf.edu

1

08/2021

Margaret Christ
The University of Georgia
mchrist@uga.edu 1 08/2021

Mary Curtis
University of North Texas

Mary.Curtis@unt.edu

1

08/2021

Randal J. Elder
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

rjelder2@uncg.edu

1

08/2021

Elaine G. Mauldin
University of Missouri-Columbia

mauldin@missouri.edu 1 08/2021

Linda Parsons
The University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa

lparsons@cba.ua.edu 1 08/2021

Robyn Raschke
University of Nevada-Las Vegas

robyn.raschke@unlv.edu 1 08/2021

Tim Rupert
Northeastern University

t.rupert@neu.edu 1 08/2021

Chad Stefaniak
The University of South Carolina

chad.stefaniak@moore.sc.edu 1 08/2021

Board of Directors Liaison
Mark Beasley
North Carolina State University    


mark_beasley@ncsu.edu

Copyright © 1998 - 2021 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.