To foster the dissemination and publication of information on taxation.

To promote tax educational activities including (but not limited to) curriculum, education-related materials, graduate tax programs, and tax accreditation matters.

To provide an interface among academic disciplines (e.g., law, economics, and accounting) relative to the cross-fertilization and development of tax-oriented educational programs.

To promote research activities involving tax policy, tax proposals, and tax legislation.

To encourage the interaction of academics with tax practitioners and tax professional organizations in professional service activities of mutual interest.


2017-18 Officers

Officer Archives

Ben Ayers
University of Georgia
335 Brooks Hall
Athens, GA 30602
Phone: 706-542-8100
Email: bayers@uga.edu

Kim Key
Auburn University
Email: keykimb@auburn.edu


Vice President
Lynn Jones
Mercer University
Stetson School of Business and Economics
Cecil B. Day Campus
3001 Mercer University Drive
Atlanta, GA 30341
Phone: 678-547-6179
Email: jones_lc@mercer.edu

Vice President-Elect
Pete Lisowsky
University of Illinois


Vice President- Finance
John Barrick
Brigham Young University
School of Accountancy
540 TNRB
Provo, UT 84604
Phone: 801-422-5549
Email: barrick@byu.edu


Blaise Sonnier 
University of Colorado- Colorado Springs
College of Business Administration
1420 Austin Bluffs Parkway
Colorado Springs, CO
Email: bsonnier@uccs.edu

Tracy Noga
Bentley University


Council Representative
Nancy Nichols
James Madison University
MSC 0203, Showker Room 344
Harrisonburg, VA 22807
Phone: (540) 568-8778
Email: nicholnb@jmu.edu


Past President
LeAnn Luna
University of Tennessee-Knoxville
711 Stokely Management Center
Knoxville, TN 37996
Phone: 865-974-6080
Email: leann@utk.edu


2017 Trustees

David P. Weber (2018)
Associate Professor of Accounting
University of Connecticut
Phone: (860) 486-2573
Email: dweber@business.uconn.edu

Michael Donohoe (2018)
University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign
Email: mdonohoe@illinois.edu


Sean McGuire (2018)
Texas A&M University
Phone: (979) 845-7935

Sonja Rego (2018)
Indiana University- Bloomington
Phone: (812) 855-6356
Email: sorego@indiana.edu


James Chyz (2019)
University of Tennessee
Email: jchyz@utk.edu

Katharine Drake (2019)
University of Arizona
Email: kddrake@email.arizona.edu


Michaele Morrow (2019)
Suffolk University
Email: mlmorrow@suffolk.edu

Casey Schwab (2019)
Indiana University
Email: cmschwab@indiana.edu




The Journal of the American 
Taxation Association
Senior Editor:
Connie Weaver
Texas A&M University
Email: CWeaver@mays.tamu.edu

The Journal of the American 
Taxation Association

Linda Krull
University of Oregon
Email: lkrull@uoregon.edu


The Journal of the American 
Taxation Association

Stacie Laplante
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Email: slaplante@bus.wisc.edu

The Journal of the American 
Taxation Association

Anne Magro
George Mason University
Email: amagro@gmu.edu


Sonja Pippin
University of Nevada – Reno
Phone: 775-784-1337
Email: sonjap@unr.edu

The ATA Journal of Legal Tax Research
Roby B. Sawyers
North Carolina State University
Phone: 919-515-4443
Email: roby.sawyers@ncsu.edu


Committee Chairperson

ATA/ Deloitte Teaching 
Innovation Award
Greg Geisler
University of Missouri - St. Louis
Email: geisler@umsl.edu


Doctoral Dissertation Award

Thomas Omer
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Email: thomas.omer@unl.edu


ATA Tax Manuscript Award
Jenny Brown
Arizona State University
Email: Jenny.Brown@asu.edu

Annual Meeting - Tax Program
Susan Jurney
Oklahoma City University
Email: njurney@okcu.edu


Stacie Laplante
University of Wisconsin
Email: stacie.laplante@wisc.edu

Concerns of New Faculty
Jeffrey Gramlich
Washington State University
Email: jeff.gramlich@wsu.edu


ATA/KPMG Doctoral Consortium 
James Chyz
University of Tennessee
Email: jchyz@utk.edu

JATA Conference
Connie Weaver
Texas A&M University
Email: cweaver@mays.tamu.edu


Legal Research
Blaise Sonnier
University of Colorado - Colorado Springs
Email: bsonnier@uccs.edu

Long-Range Planning Task Force
Brigitte Muehlmann
Babson College
Email: bmuehlmann@gmail.com


2018 Midyear Meeting Program
Lynn Jones
Mercer University
Email: jones_lc@mercer.edu

Regional Programs Committee
Amy Santos
State College of Florida
Email: santosa@scf.edu


John Robinson
Texas A&M
Email: jrobinson@mays.tamu.edu

Sonja Rego
University of Indiana
Email: sorego@indiana.edu


Research Resources and
Methodologies Co-Chairs
Bridget Stomberg
Indiana University
Email: stomberger@uga.edu

Research Resources and
Methodologies Co-Chairs
Erin Towery
University of Georgia
Email: etowery@uga.edu


External Relations
Yvonne Hinson
Email: yhinson@aicpa.org

Technology Committee
Candace Witherspoon
Valdosta State University
Email: candace.witherspoon@gmail.com


Tax Educators Conference
Tracy Noga
Bentley University
Email: tnoga@bentley.edu