Outstanding Service Award

The purpose of the Outstanding Service Award, with its broad eligibility requirements, is to recognize outstanding services to the Association other than educational and research contributions. This award is intended for rare events or milestones achieved and is presented at the AAA Annual Meeting. The Outstanding Service Award recipient(s) is decided solely by the Board of Directors and does not have a formal nomination process.

Sponsored by the American Accounting Association

Previous recipients include:

2021 Winners
Press Release
Brian J. Bushee
Marc A. Rubin

2020 Winner
Press Release
Bruce K. Behn

2019 Winners
Press Release
Anne M. Farrell
Patricia M. Poli

2018 Winner
Press Release
Guido L. Geerts

2016 Winners
Press Release
Michael A. Diamond
George W. Krull, Jr.

2015 Winners
Press Release
William F. Ezzell
Mark Higgins
Mary Stone

2014 Winners
Press Release
Gail Hoover King
Martha M. Eining

2013 Winners
Press Release
Bruce K. Behn
Bernard J. Milano

2012 Winners
Press Release
Susan Haka
Tom Lin

2011 Winner
Press Release
William F. Ezzell

2010 Winner
Press Release
Susan V. Crosson

2009 Winners
Press Release
D. Scott Showalter
Julie Smith David

2008 Winner
Press Release
Andrew D. Bailey, Jr

2007 Winner
William McCarthy

2006 Winner
Robert Libby

2005 Winners
James R. Hasselback
Joseph E. Rhile

2003 Winners
Kenneth A. Merchant
James M. Reeve
Hadley P. Schaefer

1999 Winner
Michael R. Moore


1998 Winners
Miklos A. Vasarhelyi
Clinton E. (Skip) White

1991 Winner
Paul L. Gerhardt

Copyright © 1998 - 2021 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.