Menu

2020 - 2021 Annual Meeting Committee

Charge

  • While a myriad of events and activities occur during the meeting, important communications of the message comes from the plenary and lunch speakers and from broadly focused At-Large Panel sessions.
  • Crafting an engaging, interesting, challenging, and fascinating story for the Annual Meeting is the opportunity of the Annual Meeting Committee.

Members

  • Board of Directors Team
  • Management Team
  • Chief Executive Officer (Yvonne Hinson)
  • Senior Director, Meetings and Programs (Erlinda Jones)
  • Education Chair/s
  • Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team
  • Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs & Ethics Workshop Chair
  • Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair

Member Roles

Management Team

  • President
    • Chooses President Scholar(s)
    • As Chair of Management Team, leads discussion of strategy for Annual Meeting Program
  • Works with the President to achieve the vision for that year’s meeting
  • Identifies speakers for three morning plenaries
    • Speakers may include a range of session types including: individual keynotes, “Ted-talk” style presentations, interview sessions, etc.
  • Identifies a Tuesday lunch speaker – keeping in mind the special characteristics of lunch talks
  • Plans up to three follow-up Panel sessions to continue or amplify topics begun in the three morning plenaries, as appropriate
  • Plans additional At-Large panel topics
     

Chief Executive Officer

  • Coordinates overall meeting
  • Orients/advises/informs committee members and planning process

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

  • Professional Staff member responsible for overall operational implementation of the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinator of all Professional Staff involvement
    • Professional Staff Liaisons of the Program Events are responsible for identifying the incoming Chair/Co-Chairs
  • Develops and approves Call for Submission
  • Invites speakers for three morning plenaries

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team

  • Review submissions for Section-sponsored panels and papers and identify proposals for presentation
  • Work with the Member Event Services Team to communicate deadlines and reminders to volunteers and presenters
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Suzanne Mullinnix; Suzanne@aaahq.org

Program Events

Education Chair(s)

  • Co-Chair: Karen Osterheld, Bentley University, kosterheld@bentley.edu
  • Co-Chair: Melissa Larson, Brigham Young University, melissa_larson@byu.edu
  • Co-Chair: Rose Layton, University of Southern California, rlayton@marshall.usc.edu
  • Co-Chairs collectively spend approximately 10 hours per year
  • Co-Chairs are representatives from CTLA and the TLC Annual Meeting Program Planning Committee
  • Review submissions for Pre-Conference Workshops and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Identify and organize At-Large Education Panels
  • Review submissions to Effective Learning Strategies, Emerging and Innovative Research sessions, and identify proposals for presentation

Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Wendy Tietz, Kent State University-Kent, wtietz@kent.edu  
  • Co-Chair:Jill Mitchell, Northern Virginia Community College, jmitchell@nvcc.edu
  • Review the Call for Proposals, presentation emails and related documents for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and recommend keynote and lunch speakers
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify proposals for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Identify teaching sessions held at the annual meeting for the CTLA Insider’s Guide
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org

Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs

  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair: Lori R. Fuller, West Chester University, lfuller@wcupa.edu 
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair:  Tara J. Shawver, King's College, tarashawver@kings.edu 
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and confirm keynote speaker
  • Contact Journal Editors to request if they will allow the use of their reviewers and consider accepted papers as submissions to their journals
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org

Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair

  • Chair: Marsha Huber, Youngstown State University, hubercpa@hotmail.com
  • Chair spends approx. 240-300 hours between May – August
  • Reviews the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and makes any changes necessary
  • Reviews submission report
  • Determines and confirms Program Committee
  • Assigns reviewers to submissions
  • Reviews reviewer comments and recommendations to identify papers for presentation
  • Provides accept/reject report to Professional Staff Liaison
  • Creates a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Builds program in pdf format
  • Participates in worskshop at Annual Meeting
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Jean Thompson, jean.thompson@aaahq.org

AAA Management Team

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

President
Elaine G. Mauldin
University of Missouri-Columbia


mauldin@missouri.edu 


3


08/2022

Past President
Terry J. Shevlin
University of California-Irvine


tshevlin@uci.edu
 
3

08/2021

President-Elect
Bob Allen
The University of Utah

 
bob.allen@utah.edu 
 
3
 
08/2023
Vice President–Finance
Mark Beasley              

North Carolina State University

 
mark_beasley@ncsu.edu
 
3
 
08/2022

AAA Chief Executive Officer

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Yvonne Hinson

yvonne.hinson@aaahq.org

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team-Identified by Each Section

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section/Program Affiliation

Term Length

Term Expires

Martin Persson
University of Illinois

John Keyser
Case Western Reserve University

mpersson@illinois.edu


jdk156@case.edu

AAH

1


 

2

08/2021


 

08/2022

Ikseon Suh
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Shankar Venkataraman
Bentley University

ikseon.suh@unlv.edu


svenkataraman@bentley.edu

ABO

1


2

08/2021


08/2022
 

Peter Kipp
University of North Texas

Amanuel Tadesse
University of New Orleans 

peter.kipp@unt.edu


aftadess@uno.edu

AIS

1


1

08/2021


08/2021
 

Greg Sommers
Southern Methodist University

gsommers@mailsmu.edu

APLG

1

08/2021

Katherine Drake
The University of Arizona-Tucson

Steven Savoy
University of Illinois at Chicago

kddrake@email.arizona.edu 


ssavoy@uic.edu

ATA

1


1

08/2021


08/2021

Aaron Saiewitz
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Marcy Shepardson
University of Indiana

aaron.saiewitz@unlv.edu


shepardm@indiana.edu

AUD

1


1

08/2021


08/2021

Stephani Mason
DePaul University

Dereck Barr-Pulliam
University of Louisville

SMASON18@depaul.edu

dereck.barr-pulliam@louisville.edu

DIV

1

1

08/2021

08/2021

Meghann Cefaratti
Northern Illinois University

mcefaratti@niu.edu

FAS

 1

 08/2021

Ed Owens
The University of Utah

Joe Schroeder
Indiana University-Bloomington

Aida Sijamic Wahid
University of Toronto

Bob Resutek    
The University of Georgia

ed.owens@utah.edu

jhschroe@indiana.edu


Aida.Wahid@Rotman.Utoronto.Ca


rresutek@uga.edu

FARS

1

1


2

2

08/2021

08/2021


08/2022

08/2022

Murphy Smith
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma

Lawrence.Smith@tamucc.edu


bhora@uco.edu

GIWB

1


1

08/2021


08/2021

Nancy Feng
Suffolk University

cnfeng@suffolk.edu

GNP

1

08/2021

John Changjiang Wang
University of Cincinnati

Brigitte Muehlmann
Babson University

wang2cj@ucmail.uc.edu


bmuehlmann@babson.edu 

International

1


1

08/2021


08/2021

Victor Maas
University of Amsterdam

Fei Du
University of Illinois

V.S.Maas@uva.nl


feidu@illinois.edu

MAS

1


1

08/2021


08/2021

Charles Stanley
Baylor University

charles_stanley@baylor.edu

PI

1

08/2021

Dan O'Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu

SET

1

08/2021

Amanda White
University of Technology, Sydney

Rose Layton
University of Southern California

amanda.w.white@uts.edu


rlayton@marshall.usc.edu
 

TLC

1


1

08/2021


08/2021

Carolyn B. Hughes
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

chughes@abtech.edu

TYC

1

08/2021

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Erlinda Jones

erlinda@aaahq.org

Board of Directors Liaison

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Elaine Mauldin
University of Missouri-Columbia

mauldin@missouri.edu

1

08/2021

Copyright © 1998 - 2021 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.