Call for Nominations

Distinguished Service Award in Auditing

The Auditing Section seeks nominations from the Section's membership for the award to be conferred at the Auditing Section Midyear Meeting in January. This award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions to the auditing profession or the Auditing Section, and scholarly contributions to the field of auditing. Visit the Auditing Section’s website to view previous awards here.


Selection of the award recipient will be made by the Section’s Distinguished Service Award in Auditing Selection Committee.  Nominations should be accompanied by a narrative summarizing the nominee's background and their contributions to the profession, the Auditing Section and scholarship.  No prescribed content or format is required, though the Selection Committee will benefit from comprehensive summary information upon which to build their understanding of the nominee's contributions.


Please submit nominations to Professor Scott Vandervelde via email ( All nominations must include a full citation to the nominated work and a detailed letter highlighting the reasons for the nomination.


Distinguished Service Award Winners

2018-2019 (MYM 2019)
Roger Simnett, University of New South Wales

2017-2018 (MYM 2018)
Joe Carcello, University of Tennessee

2016-2017 (MYM 2017)
Jean Bedard, Bentley University

2015-2016 (MYM 2016)
Arnold Wright, Northeastern University

2014-15 (MYM 2015)
Julia Higgs, Florida Atlantic University

2013-14 (MYM 2014)
Scott Showalter, North Carolina State University

2012-2013 (MYM 2013)
Robert H. Colson, CUNY-Baruch College

2011-2012 (MYM 2012)
Douglas R. Carmichael, CUNY-Baruch College

2010-2011 (MYM 2011)
John Fogarty, D&T Partner in Charge of Auditing Standards and Policies, Deputy Chair of IAASB

2009-2010 (MYM 2010)
Morley Lemon, University of Waterloo

2008-2009 (MYM 2009)
Gary Holstrum

2007-2008 (MYM 2008) 
William F. Messier, Jr., University of Nevada, Las Vegas

2006-2007 (MYM 2007)
Ira Solomon, University of Illinois at Urbana

2005-2006 (MYM 2006)
William "Bill" L. Felix, University of Arizona

2004-2005 (MYM 2005)
Timothy B. Bell, KPMG, LLP

2003-2004 (MYM 2004) 
Andrew "Andy" D. Bailey, Jr., University of Illinois at Urbana

2002-2003 (MYM 2003) 
Zoe-Vonna Palmrose, University of Southern California

2001-2002 (MYM 2002)
Lynford Graham, BDO Seidman

2000-2001 (MYM 2001)
Dan M. Guy, American Institute of CPAs

1999–2000 (MYM 2000)
Practice Advisory Council, PAC formed, Thomas Powell, Chair

Robert S. Roussey, University of Southern California

David L. Landsittel, Arthur Andersen

Jerry D. Sullivan, Public Oversight Board

Robert J. Sack, University of Virginia

Frederick L. Neumann, University of Illinois at Urbana

William R. Kinney, Jr., University of Texas at Austin

Jay M. Smith, Jr., Brigham Young University

John J. Willingham, Peat Marwick Main

Donald A. Leslie, Clarkson Gordon

James K. Loebbecke, University of Utah

William W. Cooper, University of Texas-Austin

Robert K. Elliott, Peat Marwick Main

Robert K. Mautz, University of Michigan

Kenneth Stringer, Deloitte Haskins & Sells

Copyright © 1998 - 2019 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.