Call for Nominations

Outstanding Auditing Dissertation Award

The Auditing Section seeks nominations for its annual Outstanding Auditing Dissertation Award. The author of the dissertation judged to make the most outstanding contribution to auditing knowledge among those dissertations nominated for consideration, in addition to the recipient's dissertation chair, will receive the award. The assessment of what constitutes an outstanding contribution will be based upon, but not limited to, the following criteria:

  • Timeliness and importance of the problem(s) addressed.
  • Creativity of the research.
  • Development of an appropriate theoretical framework.
  • Appropriateness of the research method and analysis.
  • Potential for publication in a scholarly journal.
  • Potential for the results to have an impact on the practice of auditing.

Selection of the award recipient will be made by the Section’s Outstanding Dissertation in Auditing Selection Committee. A dissertation may be nominated either by the author or one or more members of the dissertation committee. To be considered complete, nominations must include:

  • A letter from the dissertation chairperson stating that the dissertation has been completed and accepted by the degree-granting institution between January 1, 2017 and December 31, 2018 (including the date of the formal completion of the dissertation). Dissertations can be nominated more than once.
  • A nomination letter stating why the dissertation is deserving of special recognition.
  • An electronic copy of a paper from the dissertation that meets the criteria for papers submitted to Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory (refer to the latest issue for requirements related to length and other matters, e.g., submission of experimental instruments).
  • An electronic copy of the entire dissertation.

Please submit nominations to Professor Scott Vandervelde via email ( by the earliest possible date, but no later than July 31, 2019.


Outstanding Auditing Dissertation Award*

2018-2019 (MYM 2019)
Cassandra Estep, Emory University, “Auditor Integration of IT Specialist Input on Internal Control Issues: How a Weaker Team Identity can be Beneficial”
2016-17 (MYM 2017)
Emily Griffith (University of Wisconsin - Madison), “The Role of Valuation Specialists in Auditing Complex Estimates”.
Jacqueline Hammersley, Chair (University of Georgia)
2016-17 (MYM 2017)
Emily Griffith (University of Wisconsin - Madison), “The Role of Valuation Specialists in Auditing Complex Estimates”.
Jacqueline Hammersley, Chair (University of Georgia)
2015-16 (MYM 2016)
Joseph Schroeder (Indiana University), “What is the Role of Auditing in Earnings Announcement Disclosures? The Impact of Audit Completeness and Quality on GAAP Disclosure Details”
Chris Hogan, Chair (Michigan State University)
2014-15 (MYM 2015)
Matthew Ege, University of Florida
Urton Anderson, John Robinson, Co-Chairs
2013-14 (MYM 2014)
Paul Michas,
Jere Francis, Chair
2012-2013 (MYM 2013)
Regan N. Schmidt, Queen's University
Steven E. Salterio, Chair
2011-2012 (MYM 2012)
Jeremy B. Griffin, University of Georgia
E. Michael Bamber, Chair
2010-2011 (MYM 2011)
Bradley Pomeroy, University of Alberta
Michael Gibbins, Chair
2009-2010 (MYM 2010)
Michael Yu, University of Missouri
Jere Francis, Chair
2008-2009 (MYM 2009)
Jonathon Stanley, University of Alabama
Todd DeZoort, Chair
2007–2008 (MYM 2008)
Elizabeth Carson, University of New South Wales
Roger Simnett, Chair
2006–2007 (MYM 2007)
Gary Hecht, University of Illinois at Urbana
Mark Peecher, Chair
2005–2006 (MYM 2006)
Tina D. Carpenter, Florida State University
Jane L. Reimers, Chair
2004–2005 (MYM 2005)
Shawn M. Davis, Washington University
Ronald R. King, Chair
2003–2004 (MYM 2004)
Kathryn K. Epps, Georgia State University
William F. Messier, Jr., Chair
2002-2003 (MYM 2003)
KinYew Low
Ira Solomon, Chair University of Illinois at Urbana
2001-2002 (MYM 2002)
Jeffrey Wilks, Cornell University
Dr. Robert Libby, Chair
2000-2001 (MYM 2001)
Kevan Jansen, University of Florida
Bill Messier,Co-Chair
W.Robert Knechel,Co-Chair
1999–2000 (MYM 2000)
Jay Rich, University of Illinois at Urbana
Ira Solomon, Chair
Karla Johnstone, University of Connecticut
Stanley E. Biggs, Chair
Kathryn Kadous, University of Illinois at Urbana
Ira Solomon, Chair
Cynthia Williams Turner, Ohio State University
Eric Spires, Chair
Robert L. Braun, Louisiana State University
Ed Arrington, Chair
Timothy J. Louwers, Florida State University
Stephen W. Wheeler, Chair
Kathleen D. Mills, University of Arizona
William S. Waller, Chair
Charles E. Davis, University of North Carolina
Edward Blocher, Chair
Martha K. Nelson, University of Pittsburgh
Jacob G. Birnberg, Chair
Frank Buckless, Michigan State University
D. Dewey Ward, Chair
Vicky Heiman, University of Michigan
Robert Libby, Chair
Mary T. Washington, University of Southern California
Theodore J. Mock, Chair


* The Outstanding Dissertation Chair Award was first presented in 1995-96 in conjunction with the Outstanding Auditing Dissertation Award.

Copyright © 1998 - 2019 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.