Southwest Region


The Southwest Region of the American Accounting Association consists of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas


  1. To hold regional meetings for the presentation and discussion of subjects in accounting and allied fields of interest to members of the Southwest Regional Association and the national Association.
  2. To support the national Association in the accomplishment of certain of its announced objectives:
    1. To initiate, encourage and sponsor research in accounting, auditing, taxation and management advisory services, and to publish or aid in the publication of the results of research;
    2. To advance accounting instruction and to encourage qualified individuals to enter careers in the teaching of accounting, auditing, taxation and management advisory services; and
    3. To advance a widespread knowledge of accounting, auditing, taxation and management advisory services among qualified students and the public, generally.

Officers and Committees


Syed Zaidi
Louisiana State University - Shreveport

Past President

Trevor England
Sam Houston State University


Veronda Willis
University of Texas at Tyler


Program Chair-Elect
Marina Ruseva
Lamar University
Program Chair
Edward Walker
University of Central Oklahoma


Jason Ashby
University of Louisiana-Monroe