ATA Award Recipients

Ray M. Sommerfeld Outstanding Tax Educator Award
(funded by the Ernst & Young Foundation)

2019: Amy Dunbar, University of Connecticut

List of all Outstanding Tax Educator Award Recipients

ATA Outstanding Service Award

2019: Lil Mills, University of Texas

List of all ATA Outstanding Service Award Recipients

ATA / Deloitte Teaching Innovation Award

2019: Christine Cheng University of Mississippi, Pradeep Sapkota University of North Texas, Amy Yurko Duquesne University
“A Case Study of Effective Tax Rates Using Data Analytics"

List of all Teaching Innovation Award Recipients

ATA / PricewaterhouseCoopers Outstanding Tax Dissertation Award

2019: Russ Hamilton Southern Methodist University
“New Evidence on Investors’ Valuation of Deferred Tax Liabilities”

List of all Outstanding Tax Dissertation Award Recipients

ATA Tax Manuscript Award

2019: Steve Matsunaga University of Oregon, David Guenther University of Oregon, Brian Williams Indiana University
“Is Tax Avoidance Related to Firm Risk?”

List of all ATA Tax Manuscript Award Recipients

JATA Outstanding Paper Award

2019: Jaron Wilde University of Iowa, Ryan Wilson University of Oregon
"Perspectives on Corporate Tax Planning: Observations from the Past Decade”

List of all JATA Outstanding Paper Award Recipients

JATA Conference Best Discussant Award

2019: Michael Donohoe, University of Illinois

List of all JATA Conference Best Discussant Award Recipients

JLTR Outstanding Paper Award

2019: Brett Bueltel University of Southern Indiana, Kelly Walker Mississippi State University
“A Legal Analysis of State Tax Policy for Online Sales: The Recipe from Direct Marketing”

List of all JLTR Outstanding Manuscript Award

Marty Escoffier Hospitality Award (Learn more about this award)

2019: Pete Lisowsky Boston University 2019 ATA Midyear Meeting Chair

List of all Marty Escoffier Hospitality Award Recipients

Letter from the President

Benjamin C. Ayers

Greetings! I hope your fall semester is off to a terrific start.

During the summer, one of the ATA planning items is committee assignments. The ATA continues to be successful largely because of the significant amount of time and talent our volunteers invest in a variety of ATA activities and events. Thank you to all who have served in the ATA in the past and to those who will do so throughout this year.

The ATA is investing in the future of the tax profession by sponsoring its second “Why Tax?” video competition. The competition requires students to prepare a one to three minute video that encourages a tax career track. Our Big 4 firm sponsors are again funding cash prizes for winners and dedicating...

Continue Reading

ATA Memorial Fund

The ATA created this fund to provide a vehicle for ATA members to contribute in memory of deceased ATA members and friends.

Learn More

Tax Career Center

Visit the AAA Career Center to Explore Opportunities in Tax Positions

From Analytics to Auditing, or Corporate Tax to Tax Law, there are great career opportunities awaiting you in Tax related fields.

Learn More at the
Career Center

ATA News

It is with great sadness that we share the news that Ed Outslay passed away on May 20, 2019 at age 67. Ed was the Deloitte/Michael Licata Endowed Professor of Taxation at Michigan State University's Broad College of Business.

To read the announcement from Michigan State University, please CLICK HERE.  Ed was also a longtime assistant coach for the East Lansing High School baseball team. Read more HERE.