• Welcome to the Management Accounting Section

    MAS strives to improve the teaching, researching and practice of accounting that assists in the effective and efficient management of entities.

  • Susan Haka, Winner of the 2016 MAS Lifetime Achievement Award

    The Section has awarded Susan Haka, from Michigan State University, as the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award. Sponsored by the AICPA and the CIMA, this award is given to individuals who have "...have made significant contributions to education, research and practice over a sustained period of time through scholarly endeavors, teaching excellence, educational innovation and or service to the MAS section." Sue will receive the award at the upcoming 2016 MAS Midyear Meeting in Dallas, TX, January 7-9.

Jim Bulloch Award for Innovations in Management Accounting Education

Sponsored by the Institute of Management Accountants

Purpose:  The Jim Bulloch award recognizes faculty members who have created or written innovative pedagogical practices or curriculum materials in the area of management accounting. The award, generously sponsored by the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA), provides a plaque and $2,000 to the recipient.
Criteria:  Awards shall be made on the basis of several criteria. Specifically, the educational innovation should be (1) adaptable across a variety of contexts (2) broad in scope and foster learning, and (3) low-cost to apply and adapt.

Eligibility and Application Procedures:  Individual faculty members, groups of faculty, or departments teaching or preparing materials to be used for managerial or cost accounting education are eligible. Applications should include (1) a description of the innovation, (2) sample materials (where feasible), and (3) evidence that the innovation has been tested and has been shown to have educational benefits. Also include a contact person and address to whom the Award Committee can send requests for additional information. Self-nominations are welcomed.  To nominate another faculty member or group of faculty, please send a completed application following the same guidelines.

Award Committee and Mailing Address:  Applications must be received by March 1, 2020.  Please send your nomination to the Chair of the Committee: Jeremy Bentley, Isenberg School of Management, 121 Presidents Drive, Amherst, MA 01003,, phone: 413-545-5665.  Electronic nominations are preferred.

Prior winners of the Award are listed on the AAA MAS website

Copyright © 1998 - 2020 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.