• Welcome to the Management Accounting Section

    MAS strives to improve the teaching, researching and practice of accounting that assists in the effective and efficient management of entities.

  • Susan Haka, Winner of the 2016 MAS Lifetime Achievement Award

    The Section has awarded Susan Haka, from Michigan State University, as the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award. Sponsored by the AICPA and the CIMA, this award is given to individuals who have "...have made significant contributions to education, research and practice over a sustained period of time through scholarly endeavors, teaching excellence, educational innovation and or service to the MAS section." Sue will receive the award at the upcoming 2016 MAS Midyear Meeting in Dallas, TX, January 7-9.

Management Accounting Section Dissertation Award - to recognize outstanding dissertation research in the field of management accounting.   March 1, (yearly)
Notable Contribution to Management Accounting Literature Award - Consideration is given to books, monographs, and journal articles on management accounting topics published within the past five calendar years.   March 1, (yearly)
The Jim Bulloch Award for Innovations in Management Accounting Education - to recognize an outstanding teaching or curriculum contribution to the area of management/cost accounting education.    March 1, (yearly)
Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Section Award - to recognize individuals who have made significant contribution to the Management Accounting Section.   September 1 (yearly)
JMAR Best Paper Award - presented annually to the JMAR paper deemed to have the greatest potential impact on management accounting research.   October 1 (yearly)
Best Early Career Researcher in Management Accounting   March 1 (yearly)
Greatest Impact on Practice   August 31 (yearly)

Best Management Accounting Paper

AAA Annual Meeting


Outstanding Paper Award

MAS Midyear Meeting


Outstanding Case Award

MAS Midyear Meeting