• Welcome to the Management Accounting Section

    MAS strives to improve the teaching, researching and practice of accounting that assists in the effective and efficient management of entities.

  • Susan Haka, Winner of the 2016 MAS Lifetime Achievement Award

    The Section has awarded Susan Haka, from Michigan State University, as the 2016 Lifetime Achievement Award. Sponsored by the AICPA and the CIMA, this award is given to individuals who have "...have made significant contributions to education, research and practice over a sustained period of time through scholarly endeavors, teaching excellence, educational innovation and or service to the MAS section." Sue will receive the award at the upcoming 2016 MAS Midyear Meeting in Dallas, TX, January 7-9.

JMAR Best Paper Award

The Journal of Management Accounting Best Paper Award is presented annually to the JMAR paper deemed to have the greatest potential impact on management accounting research. Plaque will be presented to the winner at the Management Accounting Section Midyear meeting in January 2022 in Portland, Oregon.

Eligibility and Nomination Procedures:
Papers must have been published in 2019, 2020 or 2021

Please submit your nomination(s), along with reasons why you believe the paper should be considered for the Award, to Mandy Cheng, Chair of the Publications Committee by September 1.

Selection Process:
The award winner is elected by the members of the Management Accounting Section's Publications Committee.

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.