Empower GNP members to impact the community through their teaching, research or service roles.


To foster an environment that promotes the development of teaching, research and service for the government and not-for-profit communities.



View Officer Archives


Nancy Chun Feng
Suffolk University


President-Elect and Regional Coordinator
Erica Harris
Florida International University

Past President

Brian McAllister
University of Colorado-Colorado Springs

Vice President

Vice President and Director of Education and Research
Dana Forgione
Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi
Vice President-Practice
Corbin Neiberline


Linda Ragland
University of New Hampshire

Council Representative

Alan Styles
Cal State University - San Marcos


Journal of Governmental and Nonprofit Accounting
Thomas Vermeer
University of Alabama at Birmingham
Newsletter Editor
Alfred Yebba
Fairfield University


Barry Marks
University of Houston-Clear Lake


Outstanding Dissertation Award Committee-Chair
Amanda Beck
Georgia State University
Doctoral Consortium Program-Chair
Amanda Beck
Georgia State University
AAA Annual Meeting Best Paper Award Committee-Chair
Rebecca Bloch
Fairfield University
AAA Annual Meeting Program - Chair
Rebecca Bloch
Fairfield University
Membership Committee-Chair
Zhanel DeVides
Penn State University - Abington
Accounting and Auditing Standards Committee-Co-Chair
Renee Flasher
Penn State University - Harrisburg
Accounting and Auditing Standards Committee-Co-Chair
Jacqueline Jamsheed
College of Our Lady of the Elms
GASAC Member
Suzanne Lowensohn
University of Vermont
Nominating Committee-Chair
Brian McAllister
University of Colorado-Colorado Springs
Enduring Lifetime Contribution Award Committee-Chair
Brian McAllister
University of Colorado-Colorado Springs
Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award Committee-Chair
Ryan McDonough
Rutgers University School of Business - Livingston Campus
Education Committee-Chair
Amanda Peterson
East Carolina University
Information Technology Committee-Chair
Tharindra Ranasinghe
American University


Ohio Region
Marie Archambault
Marshall University
Northeast Region
Yunshil Cha
University of New Hampshire
Midwest Region
Qianhua Ling
Marquette University
Southeast Region
Benedikt Quosigk
Kennesaw State University
Mid-Atlantic Region
Xinxin Wang
Sacred Heart University
Western Region
Paul Wong
University of California-Davis

Section Committee Member

Nominating Committee
Robert Eger
Bellarmine University
Nominating Committee
Erica Harris
Florida International University

President's Letter

Message from Nancy Chun Feng,
Suffolk University
AAA GNP Section President

Greetings, GNP Colleagues!

I am truly honored to serve as your GNP President. Thank you for entrusting me with this opportunity! I am excited about collaborating with you and advancing the section for another year. It is a privilege to serve a distinguished community of government and not-for-profit accounting scholars, and I take pride in being part of the most collegial section within the AAA.

I extend my heartfelt thanks to Brian McAllister for his many years of service to our section and for serving as President of the section this past year. Brian has been deeply involved and served our section very well. He did an excellent job organizing the 2023 Midyear Meeting (MYM) in Denver, Colorado. He has been a great mentor to me over the past year in grasping the responsibilities of the GNP President role. Thank you, Brian!



2025 GNP Section Midyear Meeting

Check back for updates on our 2025 Midyear Meeting!



GASB Gil Crain Grant

GASB Gil Crain Memorial Research Grant    

Since its formation in 1984, the Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) has encouraged academics and other researchers to conduct studies that would be relevant to the GASB’s standards-setting activities. Over the past 30 years, such research efforts have resulted in publishing their research in research briefs, journal articles, and occasionally in GASB research reports.

The Governmental Accounting Standards Board (GASB) seeks research proposals for the 2023 Gil Crain Grant Award. Proposals should address topics of interest to the GASB’s standard setting efforts. Proposals must be received by May 31, 2023 via email submission to Decisions on proposals will be made by the end of June 2023. Any questions about topics or the proposal process may be directed to Tammy Waymire, GASB Senior Research Manager, via email or phone (203) 956-5376.

Learn More