American Taxation Association
2022-2023 ATA Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Travel Fellowship


Professional conferences are a helpful place for underrepresented minority scholars to build relationships with peers, role models and mentors. The aim of the ATA Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Travel Fellowship is to provide an opportunity for underrepresented minority scholars to participate in and network with the ATA community. The Fellowship provides travel funding to the ATA Midyear Meeting with the goal of creating long-lasting relationships within the ATA among underrepresented minority scholars engaged in the theory and practice of taxation. The Fellowship will cover hotel, conference registration, and a travel cost offset.


All PhD and DBA students or early career graduates (fewer than 10 years since PhD/DBA) with interests in the theory, practice, research, and teaching of taxation, who are members of an underrepresented minority group. Underrepresented minorities include persons who identify as American Indian, Alaskan Native, Black (not of Hispanic origin), Hispanic (including persons of Mexican, Puerto Rican, Cuban, and Central or South American origin), or Pacific Islander.

The program will be able to accommodate one fellowship winner. If multiple applications are received, the recipient will be determined based on research and/or teaching interest fit with the ATA. CLICK HERE to download the application. Applications should be emailed to by the deadline of December 9th, 2022. Applicants will be notified about their selection by December 31st, 2022. Applicants must plan to attend the 2023 ATA Midyear Meeting.


The ATA Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Travel Fellowship recipient will receive:

  • Two nights' accommodations at the conference hotel
  • $599 to be used toward travel expenses
  • Registration fee waiver


The ATA Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Fellowship is generously funded by the Marty Escoffier Memorial Fund.


Erin Towery (chair), Kirsten Cook, Felicia Farrer, Carlos Jimenez-Angueira, Michelle Nessa, and Jaron Wilde