October 2017

Dear Members:

We had a successful 2017 Annual Meeting in San Diego, CA. I am excited that we have over 130 TLC Members engaged in various board and committee positions for the 2017-2018 year. The annual meeting program contained several TLC committee initiatives. Committee Chairs are contacting their respective committe members and brainstorming new ideas or following through with previous ideas for next year’s program.

The annual meeting kicked off with the TLC breakfast on Monday morning with the award winners being the highlight of the breakfast. We are proud to recognize that two of the three J. Michael Cook Prize winners are TLC members – Cathy J. Scott and Susan M. Curtis. The winners of the Outstanding Instructional Contribution in Accounting Award sponsored by the Deloitte Foundation are Katherine Campbell and Duane Helleloid. The winners of the Outstanding Research in Accounting Education Award sponsored by the EY Foundation are Anne Christensen, Jane Cote, and Claire Kamm Latham. Alan Reinstein was the recipient of the TLC Hall of Honor Award sponsored by the KPMG Foundation. Congratulations to all of the winners and a warm thank you to our award sponsors!

The second TLC Colloquium will occur in Tampa Florida from November 16 – November 18, 2017. Cassy Budd, Gail Hoover King, Tracy Manly, Tracie Miller Nobles. Cathy Scott, Norbert Tschakert and I have arranged amazing sessions for both research and teaching tracks (see Newsletter pages 10-13 the schedule). Thank you KPMG Foundation for sponsorship of this event.

I am fortunate to work with so many outstanding volunteers. And, grateful for our executive team including Gail Hoover King (Purdue University Northwest), Past President;  Stephanie Hernandez (KPMG), VP Practice; Cassy Budd (Brigham Young University), VP Academic; Cindy Bolt-Lee (The Citadel), Treasurer; Claire Kamm Latham (Washington State University Vancouver), Secretary; and Bambi Hora (University of Central Oklahoma), Council Representative. Thanks to all of our
members for your support of the TLC Section.

Good luck as you complete the Fall semester. 

Natalie T. Churyk, PhD, CPA
William F. Doyle Endowed Professor of Accountancy
Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Accounting Education
AAA TLC Section President, 2016-2018
Northern Illinois University
College of Business

Letter from the President

Dear TLC Section Members,

I think it is safe to say that we are all relieved to be at the end of the craziest academic year on record! I expect that you all are working toward, or already enjoying, some much needed R&R.  With the cancellation of many Spring meetings, I am looking forward the day (hopefully soon) when we can again join together face-to face and reconnect in real life. Until then, I hope you are taking advantage of the many online teaching tools that have cropped up in the last few months to help us with this mid-course shift to virtual teaching and learning. Many of these have been hosted by our own TLC members - thank you for leading out!...

Continue Reading

The Accounting Educator

2019-2020 Issues

Archived Issues

Faculty Development Activities