• Review the Aims and Scope of The Accounting Review
  • Prepare the Call for Nominations for the editor based on the Aims and Scope
  • Review editorial candidates and provide a slate of at least two candidates for editor of The Accounting Review to the Publications Committee
  • The Publications Committee prepares a recommendation for the AAA Board of Directors to appoint an incoming editor for one association-wide journal (The Accounting Review, Accounting Horizons, or Issues in Accounting Education, depending on the year).  This recommendation is based on the slate of candidates put forth by the journal’s Steering Committee.
    • Approving the Call for Nominations for the Managing Editors put forth by the journal’s Steering Committee:
      • The Accounting Review - Fall 2015
      • Accounting Horizons - Fall 2016
      • Issues in Accounting Education - Fall 2017
      • The Accounting Review - Fall 2018
      • Accounting Horizons - Fall 2019
      • Issues in Accounting Education - Fall 2020
      • The Accounting Review - Fall 2021


  • Members and the Chair of the Steering Committee are appointed by the AAA Management Team.


  • Meetings of the Committee may be scheduled at the discretion of the Chair, and can be online, as appropriate.


  • Fulfill the Committee charter as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this Committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the Committee's Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the Task Force's Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (


Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires

John Harry Evans
University of Pittsburgh
“Year 3”

Margaret Abernethy
University of Melbourne

 3  08/2018

Jennifer Blouin
University of Pennsylvania

3 08/2018

Ranjani Krishnan
Michigan State University 3 08/2018

Clive Lennox
University of Southern California 3 08/2018

Andy Leone
University of Miami 3 08/2018

Laureen Maines
Indiana University
3 08/2018

Beverly Walther
Northwestern University
3 08/2018

Alan Webb
University of Waterloo

 3 08/2018