The purpose of the Auditing Section of the American Accounting Association is to give greater attention to the area of auditing. To fulfill this purpose, the Section has established objectives in three areas:

Education—to discuss, test, and disseminate various ways of teaching auditing and audit-related topics.

Research—to encourage, facilitate, and publicize research interests and projects in the audit area.

Profession—to create an opportunity for closer association between the profession and those who instruct in the field.



Chris Hogan
Michigan State University
Phone: 517-353-8647
Email: hogan@bus.msu.edu

Past President
Jay Thibodeau
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2564
Email: jthibodeau@bentley.edu


Vice President — Academic
Karla Johnstone
University of Wisconsin – Madison
Phone: 608-262-3544
Email: kjohnstone@bus.wisc.edu

Vice President — Practice
Steven Meisel
Email: smeisel@gmail.com



Keith Jones
George Mason University
Phone: 703-993-4819
Email: kjonesm@gmu.edu

Mark Zimbelman
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-1227
Email: mz@byu.edu


Scott Showallter
North Carolina State University
Phone: 919-513-0526
Email: scott_showalter@ncsu.edu

Council Representative
Urton Anderson
University of Kentucky
Phone: 512-471-5339
Email: urton.anderson@uky.edu



Auditing: A Journal of Practice & Theory

Senior Editor:
Jeff Cohen
Boston College
Phone: 617-552-3165
Email: jeffrey.cohen.1@bc.edu



Yves Gendron
Universite Laval



Jacqueline Hammersley
The University of Georgia
Phone: +418 656 2131 Ext. 2431
Email: yves.gendron@fsa.ulaval.ca

David Hay
The University of Auckland
Phone: 649-373-7999
Email: d.hay@auckland.ac.nz


Rani Hoitash
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2588
Email: rhoitash@bentley.edu

Jennifer Joe
University of Delaware
Phone: 302-831-6002
Email: jjoe@udel.edu


Karla Johnstone
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Phone: 608-262-3544
Email: kjohnstone@bus.wisc.edu

Vic Naiker
Monash University
Phone: +613 990 32388 Ext. 85172


Susan Scholz
The University of Kansas
Phone: 785-864-7554
Email: sscholz@ku.edu

Gregory Trompeter
University of Central Florida
Phone: 407-823-2150


Marleen Willekens
Catholic University of Leuven
Phone: +321 632 6932
Email: Marleen.Willekens@econ.kuleuven.be



The Auditor's Report

Larry Abbott
University of Wisconsin - Milwaukee
Email: abbottl@uwm.edu

Associate Editor:
Tamara Lambert
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Phone: 413-545-5653
Email: tlambert@som.umass.edu


Current Issues in Auditing


Dorsey Baskin
Grant Thornton
Phone: 241-561-2300
Email: Dorsey.baskin@gt.com

Greg Jenkins
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Phone: 540-231-2527
Email: greg.jenkins@vt.edu



Glen L. Gray
California State University, Northridge
Phone: 818-677-3948
Email: glen.gray@csun.edu

Section Photographer
Julia Higgs
Florida Atlantic University
Phone: 561-297-3663
Email: jhiggs@fau.edu


Committee Chairpersons

Annual Meeting Committee Co-Director 2016
Jian Zhou
University of Hawaii–Manoa
Phone: 808-956-7608
Email: jianzhou@hawaii.edu

Annual Meeting Committee Co-Director 2016
Lisa Gaynor
University of South Florida
Phone: 813-974-6566
Email: lgaynor@coba.usf.edu


Annual Meeting Committee Co-Director 2016
Barbara Grein
Drexel University
Phone: 215-895-1454
Email: bmg33@drexel.edu
Annual Meeting Vice Director 2017
Brian Bratten
University of Kentucky
Phone: 859-257-1947
Email: Brian.Bratten@uky.edu
Annual Meeting Committee Vice Director 2017
David Wood
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-8642
Email: davidwood@byu.edu
Annual Meeting Committee Vice Director 2017
Nathaniel Stephens
Utah State University
Phone: 435-797-8016
Email: nate.stephens@usu.edu

Midyear Meeting Committee 2016

Brian Daugherty
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Phone: 414-229-5737
Email: daughert@uwm.edu

Midyear Meeting Committee 2016

Jonathan Stanley
Auburn University
Phone: 334-844-6206
Email: jds0024@auburn.edu


Midyear Meeting Committee 2016 Vice

Ling Lisic
George Mason University
Phone: 703-993-7584
Email: llidic@gmu.edu

Midyear Meeting Committee 2016 Vice

Noel Harding
UNSW Australia Business School
Phone: +6-129-385-6109
Email: n.harding@unsw.edu.au


Auditing Doctoral Consortium Committee Chairperson  2016
Jennifer Joe
University of Delaware
Phone: 302-831-6002
Email: jjoe@udel.edu

Auditing Doctoral Consortium Committee Vice-Chairperson 2016
Linda Myers
University of Arkansas
Phone: 479-575-5227
Email: lmyers@walton.uark.edu


Auditing Standards Committee
Karl Hackenbrack
Vanderbilt University
Phone: 615-322-3641
Email: karl.hackenbrack@vanderbilt.edu

Communications Committee
James Long
Auburn University
Phone: (334) 844-6214
Email: jameslong@auburn.edu


Education Committee
Jason Smith
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
Phone: 702-895-4659
Email: jason.smith@unlv.edu

Research Committee
Marsha Keune
University of Dayton
Phone: 937-229-4639
Email: mkeune1@udayton.edu


Membership and Regional Coordinators Committee
Ben Luippold
Babson College
Phone: 781-239-5995
Email: bluippold@gsu.edu

Nominations Committee
Mark Taylor
Case Western Reserve University
Phone: 216-368-2073
Email: Mht17@case.edu


Notable Contributions to the Auditing Literature Award Selection Committee
Jacqueline Hammersley
University of Georgia
Phone: 706-542-3500 
Email: jhammers@uga.edu

Outstanding Auditing Dissertation
Selection Committee

Chris Agoglia
University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Phone: 413-545-5582
Email: cpa22@isenberg.umass.edu


Outstanding Educator Award
Jay Thibodeau
Bentley University
Phone: 781-891-2564
Email: jthibodeau@bentley.edu

Innovation in Auditing and Assurance Education Award Selection Committee
Mark Kohlbeck
Florida Atlantic University
Phone: 561-297-1363
Email: mkohlbec@fau.edu


Distinguished Service in Auditing Award Selection Committee
Steven Meisel
Email: smeisel@gmail.com

AJPT Awards
Jeff Cohen
Boston College
Phone: 617-552-3165
Email: jeffrey.cohen.1@bc.edu


Regional Coordinators

Mid-Atlantic Region
James McKinney
University of Maryland
Phone: 301-588-3266
Email: jmkinney@rhsmith.umb.edu

Midwest Region
Jack Armitage
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Phone: 402-554-2912
Email: jarmitage@unomaha.edu


Northeast Region
Stephen Perreault
Providence College
Phone: 401-865-1892
Email: sperreau@providence.edu

Southeastern Region
Aretha Hill
Florida A & M University
Phone: 850-599-8331
Email: hillaretha@aol.com


Southwest Region
Lili Sun
University of North Texas
Phone: 940 565-3077
Email: Lili.Sun@unt.edu

Ohio Region
Ben Hoffman
Kent State University
Phone: 332-672-1120
Email: bhoffm11@kent.edu


Western Region
Kathleen Rupley
Portland State University
Phone: 503-725-3133
Email: rupleyk@pdx.edu

Vida Botes
The University of Waikato
Phone: 64 7 856 2889 x8402
Email: vidab@waikato.ac.nz