The Southwest Region of the American Accounting Association consists of Arkansas, Louisiana, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas


  1. To hold regional meetings for the presentation and discussion of subjects in accounting and allied fields of interest to members of the Southwest Regional Association and the national Association.
  2. To support the national Association in the accomplishment of certain of its announced objectives:
    1. To initiate, encourage and sponsor research in accounting, auditing, taxation and management advisory services, and to publish or aid in the publication of the results of research;
    2. To advance accounting instruction and to encourage qualified individuals to enter careers in the teaching of accounting, auditing, taxation and management advisory services; and
    3. To advance a widespread knowledge of accounting, auditing, taxation and management advisory services among qualified students and the public, generally.


Derek K. Oler
Rawls College of Business
School of Accounting
Texas Tech University
Box 42101
Lubbock, TX 79409-2101
Office: 806.834.2354
Program Chair (President Elect)
Robert Cornell
School of Accounting
Oklahoma State University
401 Business Building
Spears School of Business
Stillwater, OK 74078-4011
Office:  405.744.6377

Past President
Katherine Boswell
University of Louisiana - Monroe
700 University Avenue
College Of Business
Monroe, LA 71209-0110
Phone: 318-342-1114
Shani Robinson
Department of Accounting
Sam Houston State University
Huntsville, TX 77341
Office: 936.294.4241
Elaine Sanders
University of Texas – San Antonio
1 UTSA Circle
Department of Accounting
College of Business
San Antonio, TX 78249
Phone: 210.458.5787
Edward Walker
University of Central Oklahoma
2009 Bodega Way
Edmond, OK 73003
Phone: 405.974.5312
Council Representative
Mary Fischer
University of Texas-Tyler
1920 Raveneaux
Tyler, TX 75703
Phone: (903) 566-7433