The Management Accounting Section shall strive to stimulate and improve the teaching, researching and practice of accounting that assists in the effective and efficient management of entities. The goals of the Section include the following:

  1. Improve the effectiveness of instruction in management accounting by fostering development, testing and discussion of methods and materials, as well as course offerings;
  2. Encourage research in management accounting by facilitating the exchange of ideas and findings, and through opportunities for exposure of research results;
  3. Increase opportunities for the interchange of ideas among the members of the academic and professional community who are interested in management accounting; and
  4. Encourage capable and promising accounting students to pursue careers in management accounting by enhancing their knowledge of the activities, responsibilities and opportunities offered by such careers.



Kristy Towry
Emory University
Goizueta Sch of Business
1300 Clifton Rd.
Atlanta, GA 30306
Phone: 404-727-4895
Email: ktowry@emory.edu

Shane Dikolli
Duke University
The Fuqua School of Business
100 Fuqua Dr, Box 90120
Durham, NC 27708
Phone: (919)660-1949
Email: dikolli@duke.edu

Past President
Monte Swain
Brigham Young University
Marriott Sch Of Mgmt/540 Tnrb 198 P O Box 23068 
Provo, U 84602
Phone: 801-4223-174
Email: monte@byu.edu

Anne Farrell
Miami University
Dept. of Accountancy
3094 Farmer School of Business
Oxford, OH 45056
Phone: 513-529-1869
Email: Anne.Farrell@MiamiOH.edu

Council Representative
Theresa Libby
University of Waterloo
School of Accounting and Finance
Waterloo, ON N2L 3G1
Email: talibby@uwaterloo.ca




Journal of Management Accounting Research
Karen Sedatole
Emory University
Email: JMAReditor@emory.edu

Communications Coordinator
Jason Porter
University of South Dakota
Phone: 605-677-5421
Email: jason.porter@usd.edu


Committee Chairpersons

Nominations Chair
Monte Swain
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-4223-174
Email: monte@byu.edu

Publications Chair
Shannon Anderson
University of California-Davis
Phone: (530)-72-3871
Email: swanderson@ucdavis.edu

Instructional Resources Committee Co-Chair
Albie Brooks
University of Melbourne
Phone: 0383445305
Email: albieb@unimelb.edu.au

Strategy Advisory Board- Chair
Kristy Towry
Emory University
Phone: 404-727-4895
Email: ktowry@emory.edu

Lifetime Contribution to Management Accounting Award Chair
Murray Lindsay
University of Lethbridge
Phone: (403) 329-2633
Email: m.lindsay@uleth.ca

Notable Contribution to Management Accounting Literature Award
Mark Young
University of Southern California
Phone: (213) 740-4848
Email: mark.young@marshall.usc.edu

Membership Outreach
Margaret Shackell
Cornell University
Phone: 607-255-6054
Email: mbs242@cornell.edu

Midyear Meeting Best Teaching Case Award 
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants 
Phone: 201-474-1532
Email: rlawson@imanet.org

Annual Meeting Best Management Accounting Paper Award 
Brian Cadman
University of Utah
Phone: (801) 585-9517
Email: brian.cadman@business.utah.edu

Early-Career in Management Accounting Research Award
Ramji Balakrishnan
University of Iowa
Phone: (319) 335-0958
Email: ramji-balakrishnan@uiowa.edu

Best Management Accounting Dissertation Award 
Ella Mae Matsumura
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Phone: (608) 262-9731
Email: ematsumura@bus.wisc.edu

Most Impact on Management Accounting Practice Award 
Wim van der Stede
London School of Economics and Political Science
Phone: 0207956695
Email: w.van-der-stede@lse.ac.uk

IMA Jim Bulloch Innovations in Teaching Award
Nick Fessler
University of Texas-Tyler
Phone: (903) 565-5733
Email: nfessler@ucmo.edu

Midyear Meeting Best Paper Award
Christian Hofmann
Phone: +08921806892
Email: hofmann@bwl.lmu.de



Meeting Coordinators

2016-2017 Midyear Meeting Co-Director
Clara Chen

2016-2017 Midyear Meeting Co-Director
Bill Tayler
Brigham Young University
Phone: 801-422-5972
Email: tayler@byu.edu

2017 IMA Doctoral Colloquium Co-Director
Jasmijn Bol
Tulane University
Phone: 504-314-7033
Email: jbol@tulane.edu

2017 IMA Doctoral Colloquium Co-Director
Andrew Newman
University of South Carolina
Email: andrew.newman@moore.sc.edu

2017 National Meeting Representative
Ivo Tafkov
Georgia State University
Phone: (404) 413-7226
Email: itafkov@gsu.edu

2017 National Meeting Representative
Susan Kulp
George Washington University
Phone: 202-994-3874
Email: skulp@gwu.edu

IMA Liaison
Raef Lawson
Institute of Management Accountants
Phone: 201-474-1532
Email: rlawson@imanet.org

AICPA Liaison
Ken Witt
Phone: 919-402-4816
Email: kwitt@aicpa.org

CIMA Liaison
Chris Chapman
Copenhagen Business School
Phone: +4538152261
Email: cc.om@cbs.dk

CPA Canada Liaison
Ron Guay
Northcentral University
Phone: 954-929-0209
Email: rguay1@att.net


Regional Directors

International Director
Kari Lukka
University of Turku
Phone: +3582339315
Email: kari.lukka@utu.fi

Bea Chiang
The College of New Jersey
Phone: 609-771-3056
Email: bchiang@tcnj.edu

Nathan Stuart
University of Wisconsin – Osh Kosh
Phone: 920-424-3472
Email: stuartn@uwosh.edu

Yvette Lazdowski
Plymouth State University
Phone: 603-535-2524
Email: yjlazdowski@plymouth.edu

Ann Gabriel
Ohio University
Phone: (740) 593-2019
Email: gabriele@ohio.edu

Maria Leach
University of Southern Mississippi
Phone:  (228) 214-3343
Email: maria.leach@usm.edu

Marty Stuebs
Baylor University
Phone: 254-710-1329
Email: Marty_Stuebs@baylor.edu

Arindam Tripathy
University of Washington
Phone: 253-692-4523
Email: tripathy@uw.edu

2015-2016 Midyear Meeting Doctoral Consortium Co-Directors

2015-2016 Midyear Meeting Doctoral Consortium Co-Directors