Menu

2019 - 2020 Annual Meeting Committee

Charge

  • While a myriad of events and activities occur during the meeting, important communications of the message comes from the plenary and lunch speakers and from broadly focused At-Large Panel sessions.
  • Crafting an engaging, interesting, challenging, and fascinating story for the Annual Meeting is the opportunity of the Annual Meeting Committee.

Members

  • Board of Directors Team
  • Management Team
  • Executive Director (Tracey Sutherland)
  • Senior Director, Meetings and Programs (Erlinda Jones)
  • Education Chair/s
  • Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team
  • Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs & Ethics Workshop Chair
  • Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair
  • Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Chair

Member Roles

Management Team

  • President
    • Chooses President Scholar(s)
    • As Chair of Management Team, leads discussion of strategy for Annual Meeting Program
  • Works with the President to achieve the vision for that year’s meeting
  • Identifies speakers for three morning plenaries
    • Speakers may include a range of session types including: individual keynotes, “Ted-talk” style presentations, interview sessions, etc.
  • Identifies a Tuesday lunch speaker – keeping in mind the special characteristics of lunch talks
  • Plans up to three follow-up Panel sessions to continue or amplify topics begun in the three morning plenaries, as appropriate
  • Plans additional At-Large panel topics
     

Executive Director

  • Coordinates overall meeting
  • Orients/advises/informs committee members and planning process


AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

  • Professional Staff member responsible for overall operational implementation of the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinator of all Professional Staff involvement
    • Professional Staff Liaisons of the Program Events are responsible for identifying the incoming Chair/Co-Chairs
  • Develops and approves Call for Submission
  • Invites speakers for three morning plenaries


Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team
  • Review submissions for Section-sponsored panels and papers and identify proposals for presentation
  • Work with the Member Event Services Team to communicate deadlines and reminders to volunteers and presenters
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Suzanne Mullinnix; Suzanne@aaahq.org


Program Events

Education Chair(s)

  • Co-Chair: Cathy Scott, University of North Texas-Dallas, cathy.scott@untdallas.edu
  • Co-Chair: Karen Osterheld, Bentley University, kosterheld@bentley.edu
  • Co-Chair: Melissa Larson, Brigham Young University, melissa_larson@byu.edu 
  • Review submissions for Pre-Conference Workshops and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Identify and organize At-Large Education Panels
  • Review submissions to Effective Learning Strategies, Emerging and Innovative Research sessions, and identify proposals for presentation
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Susan Crosson, susan.crosson@aaahq.org

 

Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Robyn C. Barrett, Saint Louis Community College, rbarrett@stlcc.edu 
  • Co-Chair: Wendy Tietz, Kent State University-Kent, wtietz@kent.edu 
  • Review the Call for Proposals, presentation emails and related documents for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and recommend keynote and lunch speakers
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify proposals for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Identify teaching sessions held at the annual meeting for the CTLA Insider’s Guide
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org

 

Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs

  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair: Lori R. Fuller, West Chester University, lfuller@wcupa.edu 
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair:  Tara J. Shawver, King's College, tarashawver@kings.edu 
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and confirm keynote speaker
  • Contact Journal Editors to request if they will allow the use of their reviewers and consider accepted papers as submissions to their journals
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org

 

Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair

  • Chair: Marsha Huber, Youngstown State University, hubercpa@hotmail.com
  • Reviews the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and makes any changes necessary
  • Determines and confirms Program Committee
  • Assigns reviewers to submissions
  • Reviews reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Creates a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Jean Thompson, jean.thompson@AAAHQ.ORG
     

Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Wayne Landsman, The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, wayne_landsman@unc.edu
  • Co-Chair: Recep Pekdemir, University of Wisconsin La Crosse, rpekdemir@uwlax.edu 
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Review submissions and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Divide the submissions into 2 tracks and identify which 2 faculty members will be responsible for each track
  • Reach out to faculty to fill any of the open faculty spots for the workshop
  • Work with AAA Professional Staff and answer any questions throughout the process
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Kelli Rickrode, kelli.rickrode@aaahq.org

 

AAA Management Team

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

President
Terry J. Shevlin
University of California-Irvine


tshevlin@uci.edu 

3

08/2021

Past President
Marc Rubin
Miami University of Ohio


rubinma@miamioh.edu
 
3

08/2020

President-Elect
Elaine G. Mauldin
University of Missouri-Columbia

 
mauldin@missouri.edu 
 
3
 
08/2022
Vice President–Finance
Mark H. Taylor              

University of South Florida

 
markhtaylor@usf.edu
 
3
 
08/2020

 

 

AAA Executive Director

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Tracey Sutherland

tracey@aaahq.org

 

Education Co-Chairs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Cathy J. Scott
University of North Texas - Dallas

cathy.scott@untdallas.edu

3

08/2020

Karen Osterheld
Bentley University

kosterheld@bentley.edu

2

08/2020

Melissa Larson
Brigham Young University

melissa_larson@byu.edu  2  08/2021

 

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team-Identified by Each Section

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section/Program Affiliation

Term Length

Term Expires

Martin Persson
University of Illinois-Urbana-Champaign

mpersson@illinois.edu

AAH 3 08/2020

Yoon Ju Kang
University of Massachusetts

Jen Winchel
University of Virginia

Ikseon Suh
University of Nevada, Las Vegas

ykang@isenberg.umass.edu


jennifer.winchel@virginia.edu


ikseon.suh@unlv.edu

ABO

2


2


1

08/2020


08/2020


08/2020
 

Matt Pickard
Northern Illinois University

Peter Kipp
University of North Texas

mpickard@niu.edu


peter.kipp@unt.edu

AIS

1


1
 

08/2020


08/2020
 

Jagadison K. Aier
George Mason University

jaier@gmu.edu

APLG

1

08/2020

Lisa Eiler
University of Montana

Katherine Drake
The University of Arizona-Tucson

lisa.eiler@umontana.edu 


kddrake@email.arizona.edu

ATA

2


1

08/2020


08/2020

Miguel Minutti-Meza
University of Miami

Stephen Perreault
Providence College

Jonathan Shipman
University of Arkansas-Fayetteville

Sarah Stein
Virginia Tech

mminutti@bus.miami.edu


sperreau@providence.edu


jeshipma@uark.edu

 

sestein@vt.edu

AUD

1


1


1


1

08/2020
 

08/2020


08/2020


08/2020

Dereck Barr-Pulliam
University of Louisville

Stephani Mason
DePaul University

dereck.barr-pulliam@louisville.edu
 

smason18@depaul.edu

DIV

1


1

08/2020


08/2020

Tim Pearson
Georgia Southern University

tpearson@georgiasouthern.edu 

FAS

 1

 08/2020

Gauri Bhat
Southern Methodist University

Urooj Khan
Columbia University Business School

Ed Owens
The University of Utah

Joe Schroeder
Indiana University-Bloomington

gbhat@smu.edu


uk2117@columbia.edu


ed.owens@utah.edu


jhschroe@indiana.edu

FARS

1


1


1
 

1

08/2020


08/2020


08/2020


08/2020

Murphy Smith
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Lawrence.Smith@tamucc.edu 

GIWB

10

08/2020

Brian McAllister
University of Colorado-Colorado Springs

bmcallis@uccs.edu 

GNP

1

08/2020

John Changjiang Wang
University of Cincinnati

Lucy Chen
Villanova University

wang2cj@ucmail.uc.edu


lucy.chen@villanova.edu 

International

1


1

08/2020


08/2020

Melissa Martin
University of Illinois at Chicago

Victor Maas
University of Amsterdam

mamarti@uic.edu


vmaas@uva.nl

MAS

2


1

08/2020


08/2020

Mitchell Stein
Western University

Anne L. Schnader
Suffolk University

mstein@ivey.ca


aschnader@suffolk.edu

 

PI

1


1

08/2020


08/2020

Dan O'Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu 

SET

7

08/2020

Wendy Tietz
Kent State University

Amanda White
University of Technology, Sydney

wtietz@kent.edu


amanda.w.white@uts.edu.au

TLC

2


1

08/2020


08/2020

Cathy Scott
University of North Texas at Dallas

cathy.scott@untdallas.edu

TYC

1

08/2020

 

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Erlinda Jones

erlinda@aaahq.org

 

Board of Directors Liaison

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Terry J. Shevlin
University of California-Irvine

tshevlin@uci.edu 

3

08/2021

Copyright © 1998 - 2021 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.