Menu

2019 - 2020 Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award Screening Committee

Nominations Deadline: January 31 at 11:59 pm Eastern Time

Charge

Coordinate all activities necessary to screen candidates for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award and the Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award. Specifically:

  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Notable Contributions" award.
  • Identify works of exceptional merit from published accounting books and articles that meet the criteria for the "Distinguished Contributions" award.
  • The Screening Committee for the Notable and Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award shall be encouraged to submit candidates for the Deloitte Foundation Wildman Award to the Deloitte Foundation Wildman Award Committee.
  • Actively seek and submit nominations
  • Review and evaluate nominations
  • Current Committee members who are nominated for the "Notable Contributions" award or the "Distinguished Contributions" award will be asked to either recuse themselves from the Committee or remove their nomination from consideration.
  • All nominees nominated for a given year’s award – who are not selected for that year’s award – will be automatically considered for the award for the following 2 years – as long as the nominated work(s) meets the publishing requirements (see award criteria for details). Nominees who were not selected for the 2019 Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award or for the 2019 Distinguished Contributions to Accounting Literature Award will be considered during the selection process for the 2020 Award and, if not chosen for the 2020 Award, will also be considered for the 2021 Award.  At the end of the selection process for the 2021 Award, if a qualified nominee has not been chosen as the award recipient or has not been re-nominated, he/she will no longer be considered for the award. 
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Executive Director, the President, or the Committee's Board of Directors Liaison.

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact  Section Term Length Term Expires
Chair

Brian Bratten
University of Kentucky

brian.bratten@uky.edu

 n/a
 

1
 

08/2020

Members

Alan Sangster
University of Aberdeen, UK

alan.sangster@abdn.ac.uk

AAH

1

08/2020

Donna Bobek Schmitt
University of South Carolina

Donna.Schmitt@moore.sc.edu

ABO

1

08/2020

Jacob Haislip
Texas Tech University

jacob.haislip@ttu.edu

AIS

1

08/2020

Mark Myring
Ball State University

mmyring@bsu.edu

APLG

1

08/2020

James Chyz
The University of Tennessee

jchyz@utk.edu

ATA

1

08/2020

Julia Higgs
Florida Atlantic University

jhiggs@fau.edu

AUDITING

 1

08/2020

Dahlia Robinson
University of South Florida

dmrobinson@usf.edu

DIV

 1

08/2020

Beth Blankespoor
University of Washington

blankbe@uw.edu

FARS

 1

08/2020

n/a

 

FAS

 1

08/2020

Elizabeth Almer
Portland State University

ealmer@pdx.edu

GIWB

 1

08/2020

Linda Parsons
The University of Alabama

lparsons@cba.ua.edu

GNP

 1

08/2020

Grace Pownall
Emory University

grace.pownall@emory.edu

IAS

 1

08/2020

Khim Kelly
University of Central Florida

Khim.Kelly@ucf.edu

MAS

 1

08/2020

Charlie Cullinan
Bryant University

cullinan@bryant.edu

PI

 1

08/2020

Dan O'Leary
University of Southern California

oleary@usc.edu

SET

1

08/2020

Tim Fogarty
Case Western University

tjf@case.edu

TLC

 1

08/2020

Cathy Scott
University of North Texas - Dallas

cathy.scott@untdallas.edu

TYC

1

08/2020

Board of Directors Liaison

Mark DeFond
University of Southern California
Vice President–Research & Publications

defond@marshall.usc.edu

 

 

 

Expected Time Commitment

  • September 1 – January 31 – actively seek and submit nominations
  • February – March 2 – review nominations, participate on conference calls and email discussions at the discretion of the Chair
  • Select a set of nominees for the Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • Select a set of nominees for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at awards@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contribution Award
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at awards@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions Award

 

Roles & Responsibilities Timeline

Chair and Committee Members Responsibilities

September - January February – March 2 June
  • Actively seek and submit nominations
  • Review nominations, participate on conference calls and email discussions, at the discretion of the Chair
  • Chair is allowed to vote in the award committee's deliberations.
  • Select a set of nominees for the Distinguished Contribution to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • Select a set of nominees for the Notable Contributions to Accounting Literature Award based on the award criteria
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Distinguished Contribution Award
  • By March 2nd, notify the Professional Staff Liaison at barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org of the set of nominees to be forwarded to the Selection Committee for the Notable Contributions Award
  • The Chair will have the opportunity to prepare and send a progress report in June which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their August meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the Committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Professional Staff Liaison, Barbara Gutierrez. (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org)

AAA Professional Staff Responsibilities

Committee Composition/Required Knowledge and Expertise

  • Care should be taken that the Committee include members with a range of expertise who are knowledgeable about unique and substantive scholarship in accounting.
  • Care should be taken that the Committee include members with a range of expertise who are knowledgeable about exceptional, current, accounting research.
  • The Committee must include a representative from each of the AAA Sections.
Copyright © 1998 - 2020 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.