Menu

2021-2022 Meetings Model Committee

 

Charge

The Meetings Model Task Force recommends the creation of a new Meetings Committee with the following charges:

  • Evaluate the new planning model and suggest any tweaks to the process
  • Review post-meeting survey feedback on Midyear Meetings and the Annual Meeting for potential changes to meetings.  Also, periodically collect feedback from Section leaders and AAA staff on the meeting planning process. 
  • Discuss whether the AAA needs any policies for ongoing online or hybrid meetings
  • Serve as a sounding board for any new meeting initiatives proposed by the Section leaders or the AAA staff
  • Mediate any problems or concerns raised by the AAA staff or Section leaders regarding planning for specific meetings
  • Determine the amount of AAA shared services costs that are charged to meetings on an annual basis

Membership

  • Ideally, there are 9 members with staggered 3-year terms.
  • The sections with the largest meetings (e.g., Audit, ATA, FARS, MAS) should always have one committee member.
  • The Regions should be represented by one member.
  • The other committee members should rotate among the other sections.
  • The AAA Management Team identifies Sections/Regions that will rotate onto the committee each year in accordance with the recommended committee composition and fairly rotating sections without a standing member. The leaders of these Sections/Regions and the AAA Management Team will work together to identify an appropriate volunteer.
  • The Director–Focusing on Segments is the Board liaison.
  • The Committee would not be a Standing Committee; this can be re-evaluated in the future.

Estimated Time Commitment

  • The Committee meets as needed at the discretion of the Chair.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the Committee charge as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this Committee, s/he should contact the Chief Executive Officer, the President, or the Committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity two times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the Committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Section/Region Term Length  Term Expires

Chair
Eric Bostwick
University of West Florida - Pensacola


ebostwick@uwf.edu

Regions

2


08/2023

Margaret Christ
The University of Georgia

mchrist@uga.edu

MAS

1

08/2022

Mary Curtis
University of North Texas

mary.curtis@unt.edu

AIS

1

08/2022

Randal J. Elder
The University of North Carolina at Greensboro

rjelder2@uncg.edu

Auditing

1

08/2022

Diana Falsetta
University of Miami

falsetta@miami.edu

ATA

2

08/2023

Linda Parsons
University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa

lparsons@cba.ua.edu GNP 2 08/2023

Mary Ellen Carter
Boston College

maryellen.carter@bc.edu

FARS

3

08/2024

Stephani Mason
DePaul University

smason18@depaul.edu DIV 3 08/2024

Cathy Scott
University of North Texas - Dallas

cathy.scott@untdallas.edu TLC 3 08/2024

Yvonne Hinson
AAA CEO

Yvonne.Hinson@aaahq.org

Ex-Officio Member
Erlinda Jones
Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Erlinda@aaahq.org

Board of Directors Liaison
Tim Rupert
Northeastern University

t.rupert@neu.edu

3

08/2024

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.