2022-2023 Membership Advisory Committee

To volunteer for this committee, please click HERE.

Charge


As the American Accounting Association imagines our future, the Membership Advisory Committee will continue to develop the vision of being Thought Leaders in Accounting by: 

  • Encouraging Tenure Track, Professionally Oriented Faculty, Global Scholars, Two-Year Faculty, and Doctoral Students to engage in AAA activities.
  • Promoting non-member engagement by reaching out to non-members to encourage membership in AAA and Segments.
  • Welcoming new members and developing ideas for retaining them.

Membership

  • New Committee members are appointed prior to the Annual Meeting by the AAA Management Team with terms of three years for continuity purposes.
  • The Committee consists of nine members, including the Chair, serving staggered three-year terms.
  • In years when the current Chair will be finishing his/her term, the AAA Management Team will appoint a Chair-elect from among the new appointees.
  • The Chair-elect serves for one year, then as Chair for two years.
  • An ex-officio student member may also serve on the Committee for a one or two year appointment.

Estimated Time Commitment

  • The Committee members could expect to spend approximately 1-5 hours per year with additional hours required as needed based on membership-related activities.
  • The Committee meets as needed at the discretion of the Chair.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the Committee charge as above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Chief Executive Officer, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair must submit at least one report per year to the Board of Directors. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

 

Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires

Chair
Greg Burton
Brigham Young University

fgb@byu.edu


2


08/2023

Chair-Elect
Ann Dzuranin
Northern Illinois University
Director-Focusing on Membership


adzuranin@niu.edu


1


08/2023

Dereck Barr-Pulliam
University of Louisville

dereck.barr-pulliam@louisville.edu

3

08/2023

Helen Kang
UNSW Sydney
Australia

helen.kang@unsw.edu.au

3

08/2023

Khalid Al-Adeem
King Saud University
Saudi Arabia

kra3@case.edu

3

08/2024

Velina Popova
Kennesaw State University

vpopova@kennesaw.edu

3

08/2024

Nargess Golshan
University of Kentucky

nargess.golshan@uky.edu

3

08/2025

Linda Parsons
University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa

lparsons@cba.ua.edu

3

08/2025

Larry Stephens
Austin Community College District

larry.stephens@austincc.edu 3 08/2025

Alex Johanns
University of Kentucky

ajo341@uky.edu

2

08/2023

Board of Directors Liaison
Ann Dzuranin
Northern Illinois University
Director-Focusing on Membership

adzuranin@niu.edu