Management Accounting Section Dissertation Award

Sponsored by the Institute of Management Accountants

Purpose:  The AAA Management Accounting Section is pleased to announce its 2019 dissertation award competition. The purpose of this competition is to recognize outstanding dissertation research in the field of management accounting. The award is generously sponsored by the Institute of Management Accountants (IMA). This year's winner will be honored with a cash award of $1,000, and the runner-up will receive $250. Both the winner and the runner-up will receive plaques at the Management Accounting Section Luncheon of the AAA Annual Meeting in August 2019.

Eligibility: An entry may be nominated by either the student who authored the dissertation or one or more members of the dissertation committee. The entry may NOT be simultaneously submitted to other dissertation competitions sponsored by other Sections of the American Accounting Association. All entries must include a letter from the dissertation chairperson stating that the dissertation has been completed and accepted by the degree-granting institution between January 1 and December 31 of 2018; that is, the 2019 award recipient must have completed his/her dissertation during 2018.

Please note that dissertations that have been considered for, or that have won, the AAA/Grant Thornton Doctoral Dissertation Award (which is intended to recognize innovative research of third or fourth year PhD students that have passed their proposal defense at the time of the award) are not excluded from having their completed dissertation considered for the Management Accounting Section Dissertation Award.

Nomination procedures: An electronic copy of the dissertation or a solo-authored working paper from the dissertation should be emailed to the Chair of the Dissertation Award committee. While the committee would prefer working paper submissions, no advantage will be given to submissions in that form.

Please ensure that all materials are received by the Chair of the Dissertation Award selection committee – Peter Kroos,–  by February 15, 2019.

Past Award Winners

Copyright © 1998 - 2019 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.