2022-2023 Annual Meeting Committee

Charge

  • While a myriad of events and activities occur during the meeting, important communications of the message comes from the plenary and lunch speakers and from broadly focused At-Large Panel sessions.
  • Crafting an engaging, interesting, challenging, and fascinating story for the Annual Meeting is the opportunity of the Annual Meeting Committee.

Members

  • Board of Directors Team
  • Management Team
  • Chief Executive Officer (Yvonne Hinson)
  • Senior Director, Meetings and Programs (Erlinda Jones)
  • Program Events
    • Education Co-Chairs
    • Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs
    • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs
    • Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Co-Chairs
    • Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Chairs
    • Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team

Member Roles

Management Team

  • President
    • Chooses President Scholar(s)
    • As Chair of Management Team, leads discussion of strategy for Annual Meeting Program
  • Works with the President to achieve the vision for that year’s meeting
  • Identifies speakers for three morning plenaries
    • Speakers may include a range of session types including: individual keynotes, “Ted-talk” style presentations, interview sessions, etc.
  • Identifies a Tuesday lunch speaker – keeping in mind the special characteristics of lunch talks
  • Plans up to three follow-up Panel sessions to continue or amplify topics begun in the three morning plenaries, as appropriate
  • Plans additional At-Large panel topics
     

Chief Executive Officer

  • Coordinates overall meeting
  • Orients/advises/informs committee members and planning process

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

  • Professional Staff member responsible for overall operational implementation of the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinator of all Professional Staff involvement
    • Professional Staff Liaisons of the Program Events are responsible for identifying the incoming Chair/Co-Chairs
  • Develops and approves Call for Submission
  • Invites speakers for three morning plenaries

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team

  • Review submissions for Section-sponsored panels and papers and identify proposals for presentation
  • Work with the Member Event Services Team to communicate deadlines and reminders to volunteers and presenters
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Suzanne Mullinnix; Suzanne@aaahq.org  

Program Events

Education Chair(s)

  • Co-Chair: Rose Layton, University of Southern California, rlayton@marshall.usc.edu
  • Co-Chair: Nick McGuigan, Monash University, nicholas.mcguigan@monash.edu
  • Co-Chair: Kelly Ulto, Fordham University, ulto@fordham.edu
  • Co-Chairs spend approximately 10 hours each year per year for a 3-year term
  • Co-Chairs are representatives from CTLA and the TLC Annual Meeting Program Planning Committee

Duties:

  • Review submissions for Pre-Conference Workshops and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Identify and organize At-Large Education Panels
  • Review submissions to Effective Learning Strategies, Emerging and Innovative Research sessions, and identify proposals for presentation
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Karen Osterheld, karen.osterheld@aaahq.org

Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Dick Walstra, Dominican University, rwalstra@dom.edu
  • Co-Chair: Lori Hatchell, Aims Community College, lori.hatchell@aims.edu
  • Review the Call for Proposals, presentation emails and related documents for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and recommend keynote and lunch speakers
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify proposals for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org

Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs

  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair: Cassandra Rohland, University of Massachusetts-Lowell, cassandra_rohland@uml.edu
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair:  Michael Ruff, Northeastern University, michaelfruff@gmail.com
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and confirm keynote speaker
  • Contact Journal Editors to request if they will allow the use of their reviewers and consider accepted papers as submissions to their journals
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org

Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Marsha Huber, Institute of Management Accountants, hubercpa@hotmail.com
  • Co-Chair: Chenchen Huang, Frostburg State University, chuang1@frostburg.edu
  • Co-Chairs spend approx. 240-300 hours (total) between May – August 
  • Reviews the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and makes any changes necessary
  • Reviews submission report
  • Determines and confirms Program Committee
  • Assigns reviewers to submissions
  • Reviews reviewer comments and recommendations to identify papers for presentation
  • Provides accept/reject report to Professional Staff Liaison
  • Creates a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Builds program in pdf format
  • Participates in workshop at Annual Meeting
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Jean Thompson, jean.thompson@aaahq.org

Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Chairs
The Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop will be held at the AAA Annual Meeting. Up to 16 proposals will be selected for presentation at the Workshop. At the Workshop, each scholar will present the proposal, followed by discussion by a senior researcher as mentor who will also provide constructive feedback. There will also be further discussion of the proposal by the presenter, other senior scholars as mentors, and the other early career researchers.

  • Chair: Christopher Williams, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, williacd@umich.edu
  • Chair-Elect: TBD
  • Past Chair: Wayne Landsman, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, wayne_landsman@unc.edu
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Review submissions and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Divide the submissions into 2 tracks and identify which 2 faculty members will be responsible for each track
  • Reach out to faculty to fill any of the open faculty spots for the workshop
  • Work with AAA Professional Staff and answer any questions throughout the process
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Kelli Rickrode, kelli.rickrode@aaahq.org

   

AAA Management Team

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Mark Dawkins
University of North Florida
President


mark.dawkins@unf.edu 


3


08/2024

Bob Allen
The University of Utah
Past President


bob.allen@utah.edu
 
3

08/2023

Mark Taylor
University of South Florida
President-Elect

 
markhtaylor@usf.edu
 
3
 
08/2025

Anne M. Farrell
Miami University
Vice President-Finance

Anne.Farrell@MiamiOH.edu

3

08/2024

Randal J. Elder
Council Chair
Ex-officio non-voting member

rjelder2@uncg.edu

3

08/2025

Yvonne Hinson
AAA Chief Executive Officer
Ex-officio non-voting member

yvonne.hinson@aaahq.org

 

 

 

 

AAA Chief Executive Officer

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Yvonne Hinson

yvonne.hinson@aaahq.org

 

 
 

   

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team-Identified by Each Section

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section/Program Affiliation

Term Length

Term Expires

John Keyser
Case Western Reserve University

john.keyser@case.edu

AAH

1

08/2023

Yoon Ju Kang
University of Massachusetts-Amherst

Jeremy Douthit
University of Arizona

ykang@isenberg.umass.edu


jdouthit2@arizona.edu
 

ABO

1


1

08/2023


08/2023
 

Nishani Vincent    
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga

Cecilia Feng
Stony Brook University

Joyce Cheng
Auburn University

surani-vincent@utc.edu


Qian.Feng@stonybrook.edu



joycexcheng@gmail.com

AIS

1


1


1

08/2023


08/2023


08/2023

Andrew Finley    
Claremont McKenna College

Luke Watson
Villanova University

afinley@cmc.edu


luke.watson@villanova.edu

ATA

1


1

08/2023


08/2023

Allen Blay
Florida State University

ablay@business.fsu.edu

AUD

1
 

08/2023

Royce Burnett
Old Dominion University

Maria T. Caban-Garcia
University of South Florida

rdburnet@odu.edu


caban@usf.edu
 

DIV

2


2

08/2023


08/2023

Xin Geng
Berry College

xgeng@berry.edu

FAS

 1

 08/2023

Michael Iselin
University of Minnesota-Minneapolis
 

Atif Ellahie
The University of Utah

miselin@umn.edu



atif.ellahie@eccles.utah.edu

FARS

1


1

08/2023


08/2023

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma

bhora@uco.edu

GIWB

1
 

08/2023
 

Linda Ragland
University of New Hampshire

linda.ragland@unh.edu

GNP

1

08/2023

Jay Lee
University of Massachusetts - Boston

jay.lee@umb.edu

International

1

08/2023
 

Anne Magro
George Mason University

amagro@gmu.edu

Leadership

1

08/2023

Todd Thornock    
University of Nebraska-Lincoln

Curtis Hall
Drexel University

tthornock2@unl.edu


cmh463@drexel.edu

MAS

1


1

08/2023


08/2023

Mitchell Stein
Western University

mstein@ivey.ca

PI

2

08/2023

Juergen Sidgman
University of Alaska-Anchorage

gkarahan@alaska.edu

SET

1

08/2023

Ann Stott
Ohio University

Jonathan Liljegren
Brigham Young University

Rose Layton
University of Southern California

fstott@ohio.edu


inthered@byu.edu



rlayton@marshall.usc.edu

TLC

1


1


2

08/2023
 

08/2023


08/2023

Robyn Barrett
Saint Louis Community College-Forest Park

rbarrett@stlcc.edu

TYC

1

08/2023

 

   

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Membership

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Erlinda Jones

erlinda@aaahq.org

 

Board of Directors Liaison

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Mark Dawkins
University of North Florida

mark.dawkins@unf.edu

1

08/2023