2022-2023 New Faculty Consortium Committee


To volunteer for this committee, please click HERE.


Charge


Plan and hold the New Faculty Consortium in accordance with established AAA policies. Specifically:

  • Review previous Committees' reports and other important background material.
  • Arrange for the conduct and administration of the consortium.
  • Assure a diversity of topics and speakers for the program to match the diversity of attendees.

Membership

  • New Committee members are appointed prior to the Annual Meeting by the AAA Management Team.
  • The Committee consists of nine members, including the Chair, Chair-Elect and Past Chair, serving staggered three-year terms.
  • Three Committee members constitute the leadership group -- a Chair, Past Chair, and Chair-Elect.
  • One new Committee member each year is named Chair-Elect by the AAA Management Team and this person serves one year each as Chair-Elect, Chair, and Past Chair of the Committee (a three-year term in all).

Meetings

  • The Committee meets annually during the AAA Annual Meeting.
  • The next New Faculty Consortium will be held February 2-5, 2023.

Responsibilities

  • To fulfill the Committee charge as above.
  • The Chair must submit at least one report per year to the Board of Directors. The report should include an overview of highlights of the event, a description of the program and list of participants, actual expenditures compared with the budget and the effectiveness of the program as evaluated by the Chair or Co-Chairs, Faculty, and the student participants. The report should be sent to the AAA President, the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Chief Executive Officer, the President, or the committee’s Board of Directors Liaison.

Members

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Chair
Roger D. Martin
University of Virginia


rdm3h@virginia.edu

 
1

 
08/2023

Chair Elect
Michael Kimbrough
University of Maryland-College Park


mkimbrou@umd.edu

 
1

 
08/2023

Past Chair
Teri Yohn
Emory University


tyohn@emory.edu

 
1

 
08/2023

Dawn Matsumoto
University of Washington

damatsu@u.washington.edu

3

08/2023

Leslie Robinson
Dartmouth College

leslie.a.robinson@tuck.dartmouth.edu

3

08/2023

Amal Said
Northern Kentucky University

saida1@nku.edu

3

08/2024

Erin Towery
The University of Georgia

etowery@uga.edu

3

08/2024

Lisa Baudot
University of Central Florida

lisa.baudot@ucf.edu

3

08/2025

Dahlia Robinson
University of South Florida

dmrobinson@usf.edu

3

08/2025

Board of Directors Liaison
Mark Dawkins
University of North Florida
AAA President


mark.dawkins@unf.edu

   

Professional Staff Liaison
Beverly Collins
Director, Special Projects

 

beverly@aaahq.org