Call for Nominations

Outstanding Auditing Educator

The Auditing Sections seeks nominations from the Section’s membership for the Outstanding Auditing Educator award to be conferred at the Auditing Section Midyear Meeting in January. This award is conferred annually and recognizes outstanding achievements in research or teaching in the field of auditing. The award recognizes exemplary contributions in research and/or teaching over a sustained period of time as evidenced by publications, educational innovations, guidance to graduate and undergraduate students, or excellence in teaching. 

Selection of the award will be made by the Section’s Outstanding Auditing Educator Selection Committee. Nominations should be accompanied by a narrative summarizing the nominee's background and their achievement in research and/or teaching in the field of auditing. No prescribed content or format is required, though the Selection Committee will benefit from receiving comprehensive summary information upon which to build their understanding of the nominee's achievements.

Please submit nominations to Professor Scott Vandervelde via email ( by the earliest possible date, but no later than July 31, 2019.


Outstanding Auditing Educator Award

2018-2019 (MYM 2019)
Steven Glover, Brigham Young University
2017-18 (MYM2018)
Joe Carcello, University of Tennessee
2016-17 (MYM 2017)
Jeff Cohen, Boston College
2015-16 (MYM 2016)
Roger Simnett, University of New South Wales
2014-15 (MYM 2015)
Robert Knechel, University of Florida
2013-14 (MYM 2014)
Linda McDaniel, University of Kentucky
2012-2013 (MYM 2013)
E. Michael Bamber, University of Georgia
Philip Reckers, Arizona State University
2011-2012 (MYM 2012)
Jean C. Bedard, Bentley University
2010-2011 (MYM 2011)
Jere Francis, University of Missouri
2009-2010 (MYM 2010)
Arnold Wright, Northeastern University
2008-2009 (MYM 2009)
Stanley F Biggs, University of Connecticut
William F. Messier, Jr., University of Nevada, Las Vegas
2007-2008 (MYM 2008)
Michael Gibbins, University of Alberta
2006-2007 (MYM 2007)
Larry Rittenberg, University of Wisconsin at Madison
2005-2006 (MYM 2006)
Jane Mutchler, Georgia State University
2004-2005 (MYM 2005)
Steve Albrecht, Brigham Young University
2003-2004 (MYM 2004)
Dan Simunic, University of British Columbia
2002-2003 (MYM 2003)
Theodore J. Mock, University of Southern California
2001-2002 (MYM 2002)
Barry Cushing, University of Utah
2000-2001 (MYM 2001)
Ken T. Trotman, University of New South Wales
1999–2000 (MYM 2000)
Nicholas Dopuch, Washington University
Andrew D. Bailey, Jr., University of Illinois at Urbana
Ira Solomon, University of Illinois at Urbana
William R. Kinney, Jr., University of Texas at Austin
James K. Loebbecke, University of Utah
Jack L. Krogstad, Creighton University
R. Glen Berryman, University of Minnesota
Frederick L. Neumann, University of Illinois at Urbana
Howard F. Stettler, University of Kansas
William L. Felix, University of Arizona
Alvin A. Arens, Michigan State University
Copyright © 1998 - 2019 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.