Menu

2020 - 2021 Governance Committee

(Formerly Bylaws Committee)

Charge

  • To review proposed amendments to the Association's governing documents to assure clarity, consistency, and legal compliance, and advise the Board of Directors on changes in the governing documents.

Membership

  • New Committee members are appointed prior to the Annual Meeting by the AAA Management Team.
  • The Committee shall consist of nine members, including the Chair, each of whom shall normally serve a three-year term, with one-third of the Committee members appointed each year.
  • The President-Elect is an ex-officio member of the Governance committee.

Meetings

  • The Committee meets as needed.

Responsibilities

  • Fulfill the committee charge above.
  • If the Chair has any questions about the charge or responsibilities of this committee, s/he should contact the Chief Executive Officer, the President, or the committee's Board of Directors Liaison.
  • The Chair will have the opportunity three times every term-year to prepare and send a progress report which will be available for the Board of Directors to review at their next meeting. This report should include accomplishments and suggested modifications and should be sent to the AAA President, the committee's Board of Directors Liaison, and Governance Manager, Barbara Gutierrez (barbara.gutierrez@aaahq.org).

Members

Name / Affiliation Contact Term Length Term Expires

Chair
Mark Dawkins
University of North Florida


mark.dawkins@unf.edu

 
3


08/2023

Ex-Officio Member
President-Elect
Bob Allen
The University of Utah

bob.allen@utah.edu

 

1

 

08/2021

Mark Higgins
Saint Louis University

Markhiggins@slu.edu

3

08/2021

Linda Parsons
University of Alabama-Tuscaloosa

lparsons@cba.ua.edu 

3

08/2021

Doug Prawitt
Brigham Young University

prawitt@byu.edu

3

08/2021

Markus Ahrens
Saint Louis Community College, Meramec

mahrens@stlcc.edu

3

08/2022

Troy Hyatt
Boise State University

troyhyatt@boisestate.edu 

08/2022

Rebecca Shortridge
Northern Illinois University

shortridge@niu.edu 

3

08/2022

Patricia Poli
Fairfield University

ppoli@fairfield.edu 3 08/2023

David Stott
Ohio University

dstott@ohio.edu 3 08/2023

Board of Directors Liaison
Bob Allen
The University of Utah

bob.allen@utah.edu

 
 

 
Copyright © 1998 - 2020 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.