Menu

2021 - 2022 Annual Meeting Committee

Charge

  • While a myriad of events and activities occur during the meeting, important communications of the message comes from the plenary and lunch speakers and from broadly focused At-Large Panel sessions.
  • Crafting an engaging, interesting, challenging, and fascinating story for the Annual Meeting is the opportunity of the Annual Meeting Committee.

Members

  • Board of Directors Team
  • Management Team
  • Chief Executive Officer (Yvonne Hinson)
  • Senior Director, Meetings and Programs (Erlinda Jones)
  • Education Chair/s
  • Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team
  • Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs & Ethics Workshop Chair
  • Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair

Member Roles

Management Team

  • President
    • Chooses President Scholar(s)
    • As Chair of Management Team, leads discussion of strategy for Annual Meeting Program
  • Works with the President to achieve the vision for that year’s meeting
  • Identifies speakers for three morning plenaries
    • Speakers may include a range of session types including: individual keynotes, “Ted-talk” style presentations, interview sessions, etc.
  • Identifies a Tuesday lunch speaker – keeping in mind the special characteristics of lunch talks
  • Plans up to three follow-up Panel sessions to continue or amplify topics begun in the three morning plenaries, as appropriate
  • Plans additional At-Large panel topics
     

Chief Executive Officer

  • Coordinates overall meeting
  • Orients/advises/informs committee members and planning process

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

  • Professional Staff member responsible for overall operational implementation of the Annual Meeting
  • Coordinator of all Professional Staff involvement
    • Professional Staff Liaisons of the Program Events are responsible for identifying the incoming Chair/Co-Chairs
  • Develops and approves Call for Submission
  • Invites speakers for three morning plenaries

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team

  • Review submissions for Section-sponsored panels and papers and identify proposals for presentation
  • Work with the Member Event Services Team to communicate deadlines and reminders to volunteers and presenters
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Suzanne Mullinnix; Suzanne@aaahq.org

Program Events

Education Chair(s)

  • Co-Chair: Melissa Larson, Brigham Young University, melissa_larson@byu.edu
  • Co-Chair: Rose Layton, University of Southern California, rlayton@marshall.usc.edu
  • Co-Chair: Nick McGuigan, Monash University, nicholas.mcguigan@monash.edu
  • Co-Chairs spend approximately 10 hours each year per year for a 3-year term
  • Co-Chairs are representatives from CTLA and the TLC Annual Meeting Program Planning Committee

Duties:

  • Review submissions for Pre-Conference Workshops and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Identify and organize At-Large Education Panels
  • Review submissions to Effective Learning Strategies, Emerging and Innovative Research sessions, and identify proposals for presentation
  • Professional Staff Liaison:Karen Osterheld, karen.osterheld@aaahq.org

Conference on Teaching and Learning in Accounting (CTLA) Co-Chairs

  • Co-Chair: Jill Mitchell, Northern Virginia Community College, jmitchell@nvcc.edu
  • Co-Chair: Dick Walstra, Dominican University, rwalstra@dom.edu
  • Review the Call for Proposals, presentation emails and related documents for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and recommend keynote and lunch speakers
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify proposals for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Identify teaching sessions held at the annual meeting for the CTLA Insider’s Guide
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org

Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chairs

  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair: Lisa R. Baudot, University of Central Florida, lisa.baudot@ucf.edu
  • Ethics Research Symposium Co-Chair:  Dana M. Wallace, University of Central Florida, dana.wallace@ucf.edu
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Identify and confirm keynote speaker
  • Contact Journal Editors to request if they will allow the use of their reviewers and consider accepted papers as submissions to their journals
  • Assign reviewers to submissions
  • Review reviewer comments to identify papers for presentation
  • Create a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Stephanie Glaser, stephanie@aaahq.org

Faculty-Student Collaborations in Accounting (FASTCA) Chair

  • Co-Chair: Marsha Huber, Institute of Managment Accountants, hubercpa@hotmail.com
  • Co-Chair: Chenchen Huang, Carlow University, chuang@carlow.edu
  • Co-Chairs spend approx. 240-300 hours (total) between May – August 
  • Reviews the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and makes any changes necessary
  • Reviews submission report
  • Determines and confirms Program Committee
  • Assigns reviewers to submissions
  • Reviews reviewer comments and recommendations to identify papers for presentation
  • Provides accept/reject report to Professional Staff Liaison
  • Creates a balanced program from the list of accepted proposals
  • Builds program in pdf format
  • Participates in workshop at Annual Meeting
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Jean Thompson, jean.thompson@aaahq.org

Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop Faculty Chairs
The Global Emerging Scholars Research Workshop will be held at the AAA Annual Meeting. Up to 16 proposals will be selected for presentation at the Workshop. At the Workshop, each scholar will present the proposal, followed by discussion by a senior researcher as mentor who will also provide constructive feedback. There will also be further discussion of the proposal by the presenter, other senior scholars as mentors, and the other early career researchers.

  • Chair: Wayne Landsman, University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill, wayne_landsman@unc.edu
  • Chair-Elect: Christopher Williams, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, williacd@umich.edu
  • Review the Call for Papers for the upcoming year and make any changes necessary
  • Review submissions and identify proposals acceptable for presentation
  • Divide the submissions into 2 tracks and identify which 2 faculty members will be responsible for each track
  • Reach out to faculty to fill any of the open faculty spots for the workshop
  • Work with AAA Professional Staff and answer any questions throughout the process
  • Professional Staff Liaison: Kelli Rickrode, kelli.rickrode@aaahq.org

AAA Management Team

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

President
Bob Allen
The University of Utah


bob.allen@utah.edu  


3


08/2023

Past President
Elaine G. Mauldin
University of Missouri-Columbia


mauldin@missouri.edu 
 
3

08/2022

President-Elect
Mark Dawkins
University of North Florida

 
mark.dawkins@unf.edu
 
3
 
08/2024
Vice President–Finance
Mark Beasley              

North Carolina State University

 
mark_beasley@ncsu.edu
 
3
 
08/2022

Anne M. Farrell
Miami University
Vice President-Finance-Elect

Anne.Farrell@MiamiOH.edu

3

08/2024

Monte Swain
Brigham Young University
Council Chair

monte@byu.edu

3

08/2024

Yvonne Hinson
AAA Chief Executive Officer

yvonne.hinson@aaahq.org

AAA Chief Executive Officer

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Yvonne Hinson

yvonne.hinson@aaahq.org

Section-Sponsored Concurrent Sessions Team-Identified by Each Section

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Section/Program Affiliation

Term Length

Term Expires

John Keyser
Case Western Reserve University

john.keyser@case.edu

AAH

1

08/2022

Shankar Venkataraman
Bentley University

Tracie Majors
University of Southern California

svenkataraman@bentley.edu


tmajors@marshall.usc.edu

ABO

1


1

08/2022


08/2022
 

Amanuel Tadesse
University of New Orleans

Nishani Vincent    
The University of Tennessee at Chattanooga    

aftadess@uno.edu


surani-vincent@utc.edu

AIS

1


1

08/2022


08/2023
 

Anne Magro
George Mason University

amagro@gmu.edu

APLG

1

08/2022

Steven Savoy    
University of Illinois-Chicago

Andrew Finley    
Claremont McKenna College

ssavoy@uic.edu


afinley@cmc.edu

ATA

1


1

08/2022


08/2023

Josh Gunn    
University of Pittsburgh

Lauren Reid    
Wake Forest University

Andrew Trotman    
Northeastern University

Ally Zimmerman    
Florida State University

jlgunn@katz.pitt.edu


reidlc@wfu.edu


a.trotman@northeastern.edu


‚Äčazimmerman@business.fsu.edu

AUD

1


1


1


1

08/2022


08/2022


08/2022



08/2022

Royce Burnett
Old Dominion University

Maria T. Caban-Garcia
University of South Florida

rdburnet@odu.edu

caban@usf.edu
 

DIV

2

2

08/2023

08/2023

Dana Y. Hollie
University of Toledo

Dana.Hollie@UToledo.edu

FAS

 1

 08/2022

Michael Iselin
University of Minnesota-Minneapolis
 

Bob Resutek    
The University of Georgia

miselin@umn.edu


rresutek@uga.edu

FARS

1


1

08/2022


08/2022

Murphy Smith
Texas A&M University-Corpus Christi

Bambi Hora
University of Central Oklahoma

Lawrence.Smith@tamucc.edu


bhora@uco.edu

GIWB

1


1

08/2022


08/2022

Erica Harris
Florida International University

erharris@fiu.edu

GNP

1

08/2022

Jay Lee
University of Massachusetts - Boston

Elizabeth Gutierrez
Universidad De Chile

jay.lee@umb.edu


eligutierrez@fen.uchile.cl 

International

1


1

08/2022


08/2022

Fei Du    
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Todd Thornock    
University of Nebraska-Lincoln

feidu@illinois.edu


tthornock2@unl.edu

MAS

1


2

08/2022


08/2023

Mitchell Stein
Western University

mstein@ivey.ca

PI

1

08/2022

Chanta N. Thomas
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, Newark

chantathomas@gmail.com

SET

1

08/2022

Rose Layton
University of Southern California

rlayton@marshall.usc.edu
 

TLC

1

08/2022

Carolyn B Hughes
Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College

chughes@abtech.edu

TYC

1

08/2022

AAA Senior Director, Meetings and Programs

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Erlinda Jones

erlinda@aaahq.org

Board of Directors Liaison

Name / Affiliation

Contact

Term Length

Term Expires

Bob Allen
The University of Utah

bob.allen@utah.edu

1

08/2022

Copyright © 1998 - 2022 by American Accounting Association. All rights reserved.