Accounting for an
Ever-Changing World

A Joint Conference of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB), the International Accounting Standards Board (IASB), and The Accounting Review (TAR)


Andreas Barckow, IASB Chair

Andreas Barckow
IASB Chair

Dr Andreas Barckow is an experienced and highly regarded leader in the field of international accounting. From 2015 to 2021, he served as President of the Accounting Standards Committee of Germany (Deutsches Rechnungslegungs Standards Committee e.V.).

He has been an active participant in numerous advisory bodies to the IFRS Foundation and the IASB, including membership of the IASB’s Accounting Standards Advisory Forum and the IFRS Advisory Council. Moreover, he is an acknowledged expert in IFRS Standards, having previously served as the lead technical partner for financial reporting matters in the German member firm of Deloitte.

Dr Barckow holds a Diploma and Doctorate degree in Business Administration from the University of Paderborn and is an Honorary Professor at WHU Otto Beisheim School of Management.

He started his term as Chair of the International Accounting Standards Board in July 2021.

Mary E. Barth, FAF

Mary E. Barth
Joan E. Horngren Professor of Accounting, Emerita at Stanford University’s Graduate School of Business

Mary has served as a professor in accounting at Stanford since 1995, also serving as a member of the International Monetary Fund’s External Audit Committee from 2014 to 2016 and as its Chair from 2016 to 2017. She also served as a member of the International Accounting Standards Board from 2001 to 2009, and as its Academic Advisor from 2009 to 2011.

During her tenure at Stanford University, she has held other visiting and honorary professor positions at London Business School, University of Melbourne, Singapore Management University, University of Pretoria, and the University of International Business and Economics in Beijing. Prior to joining Stanford University, Prof. Barth served as an Associate Professor of Business Administration at Harvard.

Richard R. Jones, FASB Chair

Richard R. Jones
FASB Chair

Richard R. Jones began his seven-year term as the eighth chair of the Financial Accounting Standards Board (FASB) on July 1, 2020. In this role, Mr. Jones heads up the seven-member board that establishes generally accepted accounting principles (GAAP) for public companies, private companies and nongovernmental not-for-profit organizations in the U.S.

Mr. Jones obtained deep technical accounting experience over more than three decades with Ernst & Young (EY), most recently serving as Partner and Chief Accountant. He also was a member of the Financial Accounting Standards Advisory Council (2016-2018), and the Accounting Standards Executive Committee of the AICPA (2003-2008).

Mr. Jones holds a B.S. in accounting from the State University of New York, Binghamton. He is a CPA in New York.

Paul Munter

Paul Munter
Acting Chief Accountant, SEC

Paul Munter is Acting Chief Accountant of the Office of the Chief Accountant (OCA) at the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission. He joined OCA as Deputy Chief Accountant for International Activities in 2019. Prior to joining the SEC staff he served as professor of accounting at University of Miami and a national office partner for KPMG. He earned his PhD in accounting from the University of Colorado, Boulder and his B.S. and M.S. in accounting from Fresno State University. He is a CPA in Colorado, New York, and Florida.