Innovation in Accounting History Education Award

The intent of this award is to encourage innovations in accounting history education. The award (a plaque) will be presented to an individual(s) who has developed and implemented an innovative technique/method for incorporating accounting history topics into undergraduate or graduate accounting courses. To be eligible, the innovation must have been used in a course that the applicant has taught or is currently teaching.

Examples of innovative techniques/methods include, but are not limited to:

  • Developing a case, video, audio or course syllabus, etc., that can be used to integrate accounting history topics into accounting courses; or

  • Presenting a seminar or condensed course on an accounting history topic.

Electronic submissions only should include the following items (as applicable):

  • A description of the innovative technique/method;

  • Submission of the case, video, audio or other innovation, as appropriate, and teaching notes;

  • Identification and description of the course or seminar in which the innovation was used; and

  • An explanation of how the innovation has enriched the accounting course being taught.

Award: Plaque
Send nominations to: Academy Executive Committee at

Congratulations to the 2018 Recipient!
John Keyser, Case Western Reserve University

John D. Keyser is an assistant professor at Case Western Reserve University (CWRU).  He completed his PhD in Accounting at CWRU after a twenty-year career at RSM US LLP.  John is formerly the National Director of Assurance Services for RSM US LLP. In that role, John led the Audit Standards and Methodology Group and was responsible for audit and attest policies, procedures, tools, guidance, and training. He previously served as the National Director of Financial Institutions Services, where he was responsible for industry specific audit and accounting policies, tools, guidance, training, and client acceptance and continuance for the financial institutions industry. Prior to joining the National Professional Standards Group, John was an engagement partner in the Las Vegas office of RSM US LLP. As an engagement partner, John spent nearly one hundred percent of his time serving financial institution clients, assisting them with audit and accounting matters, regulatory reporting, initial public offerings, private placements, mergers and acquisitions, and SEC reporting matters.  His research interests include audit judgment and decision making, accounting history, and accounting regulation.


Past recipients of the Award:

2017: No Award Presented
2016: Edgard Cornacchione, University of Sao Paulo
2015: James McKinney, University of Maryland
2014: Stephan A. Fafatas, Washington and Lee University
2013: Donald Ariail, Southern Polytechnic State University; Joseph Durden, Nova Southeastern University; Marilyn Leathart, Texas A&M University - Central Texas;               Lynette Capman Vasill, Texas A&M University - San Antonio
2012: No Award Presented
2011: Bob van den Brand, Eddy Cardinaels, Gert Jan Luijten, Ivo van Amelsfoort and Edith Leung, Tilburg University
2010: Thomas Tyson, St. John Fisher College
2009: Jayne Bisman, Charles Sturt University and Ellen Uppman, Univerity of Portland
2008: Robert Bloom, John Carroll University
2006: No Award Presented
2004: David Oldroyd, University of Newcastle
2003: William Samson, University of Alabama
2001: David S. Deines and David R. Vruwink, Kansas State University

Letter from the President

This is an exciting time for the Academy as we leverage our successful past to expand our reach as a 21st century global organization.

We have substantially completed the transition from a standalone entity during early 2018 and we are now operating as a section within the American Accounting Association (AAA). A transition team has worked diligently since late 2015 to transfer the operations and dedicated resources of the Academy of Accounting Historians to a section within the AAA structure and we were welcomed at the AAA Centennial meeting in August 2016 as the newest section of the AAA.

Read More

Accounting Historians Journal

First volume was published in 1974. We publish twice a year. Older volumes are available online at AAA Digital Library

Overview of acceptable submissions:

  • History of profession
  • Biography
  • History of accounting change
  • Entity case studies: industries, companies, governmental or NFP entities
  • Development of accounting theory
  • Critical examinations of new or old research
  • Does not have to be old to be a part of our history

Learn More

Accounting Historians Notebook

Submissions and any other Notebook editorial matters may be sent to Tiffany Welch, Academy Administrator, at:

The April 2019 Accounting Historian's Notebook is now available online! View it now!


Recent Events & Conferences