Margit F. and Hanns Martin Schoenfeld Scholarship

The Academy of Accounting Historians annually awards an individual or individuals as the recipient or recipients of the Margit F. and Hanns Martin Schoenfeld Scholarship. The purpose of the scholarship is to encourage and support research on the history of accounting by doctoral students and recently appointed accounting faculty. The scholarship was initiated by the generous gift of Dr. Hanns Martin Schoenfeld and Dr. Margit Schoenfeld in recognition of their belief in the importance of historical scholarship to accounting education and research.

A monetary award is available to support research on a doctoral dissertation or develop publications proceeding therefrom by a recent PhD graduate. Qualifying research topics should address the history of accounting. Projects of an international nature and those pursued by scholars whose first language is not English are particularly invited. Applicants must be currently enrolled or have completed a PhD by research within the last five years.

Applicants should submit a full curriculum vitae and a statement (containing a maximum of 1,000 words) which discusses the doctoral research undertaken on the history of accounting, the stage reached and how the award would prove beneficial to the applicant. A short statement from a supervisor should also be submitted in the case of applicants currently enrolled for a PhD.

Award: Plaque and $3,000
Send nominations to: Academy Executive Committee at

Congratulations to the 2019 Recipients!

Joy Gray, Bentley University

Joy Gray is a Lecturer in the Department of Accountancy and the Internal Audit Education Partnership (IAEP) coordinator at Bentley University. She teaches courses in IT Audit, Internal Audit, and Introductory Accounting. She is active in research regarding topics related to IT audit history, the IT audit activities of internal auditors, and technology in accounting education. Prior to her academic roles, Joy worked in various practitioner roles in internal audit, and financial/business analysis.  She is a Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) and Certified Information Systems Auditor (CISA).  

Joy completed her PhD in Accountancy in 2016 at Bentley University. Her dissertation studied the evolution of the integrated information technology auditor within internal audit.  She also holds a Graduate Certificate in Forensic Accounting and a Master of Science degree in Business Education from Southern New Hampshire University, a Bachelor of Science degree with an area in Accounting from Murray State University in Kentucky; and is a graduate of the GE Financial Management Program.  She is involved in numerous service activities, including serving on a task for the Boston Public Schools to establish an internal audit function, as a member of the board of governors for the Greater Boston Chapter of the Institute of Internal Auditors, and as a member of the Education Committee for the AIS Section of the American Accounting Association.


Alessia Patuelli, IMT School for Advanced Studies in Lucca & Jonida Carungu, University of Siena

Alessia Patuelli is an Assistant Professor in Management Science at the IMT School for Advanced Studies in Lucca (Italy). She is an Adjunct Professor of Public Management at the University of Ferrara. Alessia obtained her Ph.D. in Business Administration and Management at the University of Pisa in 2017. During her studies, she visited the University of Leeds (United Kingdom) and the Institute of Economic Affairs in London. Her research interests and publications vary around management themes, including Family Business, Organizational Behavior, Public Management and Accounting History.

Jonida Carungu is an Honorary Fellow in Accounting in the Department of Business and Law, University of Siena (Italy) and a Chartered Accountant. Jonida obtained her Ph.D. in Business Administration and Management at the University of Pisa in 2017. During her academic career, she visited UNED (Universidad Nacional de Educación a Distancia), Madrid (Spain) and the University of Roehampton, London (United Kingdom). Her research interests include International Accounting, Accounting History and Social and Environmental Accounting.


Alessia and Jonida are developing a research path in the history of accounting research, which started as a study of the oldest Italian accounting journal and developed into an international comparison of accounting research from an historical perspective, focusing on non-English speaking countries. 

Past recipients of the Award:

2018 Adriana Silva, Federal University of Pará

2017 Till-Arne Hahn, Queen's University

2016 Michele Bigoni, University of Ferrara

2015 Liesel Klemcke, Stockholm Business School, Sebastian Hoffmass, University of Edinburgh, Tania Nunes, University of Sao Paulo

2014 Deborah Anderson, University of Oxford

2013 Krysta Heathcote, University of Johannesburg

2012 Martin Persson, University of London

2012 Miguel Goncalves, University of Minho

2011 Ofelia Pinto, University of Ballarat

2010 No Award Presented

2009 Delfina Gomes, University of Minho

2008 Sonia Granado Suarez, University of Las Palmas de Gran Canaria

2005 Liesel Klemcke, Stockholm Business School, Sebastian Hoffmass, University of Edinburgh, Tania Nunes, University of Sao Paulo

Letter from the President

This is an exciting time for the Academy as we leverage our successful past to expand our reach as a 21st century global organization.

We have substantially completed the transition from a standalone entity during early 2018 and we are now operating as a section within the American Accounting Association (AAA). A transition team has worked diligently since late 2015 to transfer the operations and dedicated resources of the Academy of Accounting Historians to a section within the AAA structure and we were welcomed at the AAA Centennial meeting in August 2016 as the newest section of the AAA.

Read More

Accounting Historians Journal

First volume was published in 1974. We publish twice a year. Older volumes are available online at AAA Digital Library

Overview of acceptable submissions:

  • History of profession
  • Biography
  • History of accounting change
  • Entity case studies: industries, companies, governmental or NFP entities
  • Development of accounting theory
  • Critical examinations of new or old research
  • Does not have to be old to be a part of our history

Learn More

Accounting Historians Notebook

Submissions and any other Notebook editorial matters may be sent to Tiffany Schwendeman, Academy Administrator, at:

The April 2020 Accounting Historian's Notebook is now available online!

View it now!

Recent Events & Conferences