Barbara D. Merino Award for Excellence in Accounting History Publication

This annual award of $1,000 and a plaque is to recognize the author of the best book on an accounting historical topic published in the current or previous two years, i.e., 2019 through 2021. The winning publication will be based upon the selection of an awards committee established by the leadership of the Academy of Accounting Historians.

Award: Plaque and $1,000

Send nominations to: Academy Executive Committee at

Congratulations to the 2023 Recipients!

Studies in the Development of Accounting Thought, Vol. 25, Historical Developments in the Accountancy Profession
(Financial Reporting and Accounting Theory)
C. Richard Baker (Adelphi University), and Martin Persson (University of of Illinois Urbana-Champaign) 


Past recipients of the Award:

2022: James W. Davis (University of Mississippi), Dale L. Flesher (University of Mississippi) and Annette B. Pridgen (Jackson State University)
2021: Alan Sangster (University of Aberdeen)
2020: Kelly Kilcrease and Yvette Lazdowski (University of New Hampshire - Manchester)
2019: Kelly L. Williams (Middle Tennessee State University) and Howard Lawrence (University of Mississippi)
2018: Gary Giroux (Emeritus, Texas A&M University)
2017: Martin Persson (Western University)
2016: Gary Spraakman (York University)
2015: Warwick Funnell (University of Kent) and Jeff Robertson (Massey University)
2014: Trevor Boyns (Cardiff University) and John Richard Edwards (Cardiff University)

The First 40 Years of the Academy of Accounting Historians

Trace the evolution of The Academy of Accounting Historians in a three part series of papers from its founding in 1973 through the 40th Anniversary in 2013. The primary purpose of this series is to provide information about The Academy of Accounting Historians, the people who have contributed to its establishment and success, and to assist in planning our future role. All three papers were published in The Accounting Historians Journal and can be viewed by clicking the button below. 


Accounting Historians Journal

First volume was published in 1974. We publish twice a year. Older volumes are available online at AAA Digital Library

Overview of acceptable submissions:

  • History of profession
  • Biography
  • History of accounting change
  • Entity case studies: industries, companies, governmental or NFP entities
  • Development of accounting theory
  • Critical examinations of new or old research
  • Does not have to be old to be a part of our history

Learn More

Accounting Historians Notebook

Submissions and any other Notebook editorial matters may be sent to:

The 50th Anniversary Special Edition of The Accounting Historian's Notebook is now available online!

View it here now!