FARS Outstanding Discussion Award

Purpose: To recognize discussants that provide outstanding discussions of papers presented at the FARS Midyear Meeting.  An outstanding discussion is one that is clear, constructive, and civil; i.e. it provides valuable feedback for improving and understanding the contribution of the paper in a way that is understandable to the audience and not demeaning to the authors.

Nature of Award: There is no limit on the number of awards. The award will not be accompanied by any plaque or money.  The winners will be recognized publically at the following annual meeting luncheon.  The winners will also be encouraged to list this award on their CV as evidence of their outstanding discussion activities for the Section.

Process: After the meeting, the Best Midyear Meeting Paper committee will email all meeting attendees to ask for nominations.  The deadline for nominations is March 1.  The nomination would only have to include the discussant’s name and the name of the authors whose paper he or she discussed.  The committee will then ask for the discussants’ slides, and use these, along with the number of nominations, the source of the nominations (e.g., an author nominating his or her discussant for the award would get a lot of weight), and any first-person attendance at the discussion to determine the award winners.


Past Winners


Terrence Blackburne, University of Washington
Beth Blankespoor, University of Washing
Matthew Bloomfield, University of Pennsylvania
Matthias Breuer, Columbia University
Kathryn Brightbill, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Shana Clor-Proell, Texas Christian University
Shannon Garavaglia, University of Texas at Austin
Weili Ge, University of Washington
Stephen Glaeser, University of North Carolina
Yadav Gopalan
Justin Hopkins, University of Virginia
Zach Kaplan, Washington University in St. Louis
Henry Laurion, University of Colorado
Jeff McMullin, Indiana University
Sarah McVay, University of Washington
Jeremy Michels, University of Pennsylvania
K Ramesh, Rice University
Steven Savoy, University of Illinois-Chicago
Katherine Schipper, Duke University
Amy Sheneman, Ohio State University
Xiaoli Tian, Georgetown University
Jenny Tucker, University of Florida
Rajesh Vijayaraghavan, University of British Columbia
Jessica Watkins, University of Notre Dame
Gwen Yu, University of Michigan
Youli Zou, George Washington University


Kris Allee, University of Arkansas
Brad Badertscher, University of Notre Dame
John Barrios, University of Chicago
Terrence Blackburne, University of Washington
Elizabeth Blankespoor, Stanford University
Jeff Burks, University of Notre Dame
Akash Chattopadhyay, University of Toronto
Michael Clement, The University of Texas at Austin
Aytekin Ertan, London Business School
Carlo Maria Gallimberti, Boston College
Cristi Gleason, University of Iowa
Michael Jung, New York University
Todd Kravet, University of Connecticut
Alina Lerman, Yale University
Maria Loumioti, The University of Texas at Dallas
Dawn Matsumoto, University of Washington
Karen Nelson, Texas Christian University
Paige Patrick, University of Washington
Darren Roulstone, The Ohio State University
Philip Shane, College of William and Mary
Andrew Sutherland, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Jacob Thornock, Brigham Young University


Jeffrey Doyle, Utah State University
David Erkens, University of Southern California
Lucile Faurel, Arizona State University
Susanna Gallani, Harvard University
Alastair Lawrence, University of California, Berkeley
Michael Minnis, University of Chicago
Edward Riedl, Boston University
Samuel Tan, University of California, Berkeley
Joshua White, Vanderbilt University
Gwen Yu, University of Michigan


President's Letter

Dear FARS Members and Visitors,

The Financial Accounting and Reporting Section represents a diverse set of academics who employ numerous research and teaching approaches to further our understanding of how financial reporting shapes the way our world works. We operate to achieve objectives related to research, education and professional practice of financial reporting and analysis.

A Steering Board is responsible for the stewardship of the section. However, we rely crucially on volunteers, who serve in various roles in support of our mission. Our most recent annual and midyear meetings reflected the combined efforts of hundreds of members, who reviewed academic papers submissions, organized sessions, moderated, presented and served in numerous other roles. I am amazed at the level of commitment our members have to our profession.

Continue Reading


Journal of Financial Reporting

The Journal of Financial Reporting (JFR) is the academic journal of the Financial Accounting and Reporting Section of the American Accounting Association. JFR’s target audience is financial reporting researchers. JFR will publish two regular issues each year. JFR will also occasionally publish themed issues dedicated to studies that launch a new question or move the literature forward in an existing area.

Learn More


Call for Papers

Accounting Organizations & Society

Conference on Accounting for Sustainability and Climage Change

Fall 2021 - Chicago

Research Objectives:

  • A. to encourage, facilitate, and publicize research in financial accounting and reporting.
  • B. to communicate interests, intentions, and actual work-in-process in the area.
  • C. to identify areas in need of research.
  • D. to provide opportunities for public exposure of research results through AAA meetings (annual, regional, and special meetings devoted solely to financial accounting and reporting) and publications (including working papers and a separate journal for financial accounting and reporting, if warranted).